We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
104
104
39
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
104
39
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san diego front desk taco shop free breakfast pool and hot tub would stay here again yogurt biscuits and gravy price range ice machine hi express beds were comfortable close proximity the location is perfect decent hotel hotel room parking lot
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The hotel looks to be on the older side. Some grooming and upkeep needs some overdue work. Close to the interstate, plenty of parking. The rooms were average at best, some noise. Our bathroom counter was hanging at a major slant, and the carpets need to be replaced. Staff was nice, the building just needs some attention.

Room Tip: you get exactly what you pay for.....
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear MichaelL, Yes, we are due for a renovation this Fall and we plan to improve our building massively. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your stay and I hope you can give us another chance in the future, perhaps after the renovation. Best, AWN, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a business trip from Los Angeles to San Diego, during spring break when many of the San Diego hotels are significantly more expensive. This hotel is right off the freeway and about 15 miles from San Diego. Also very close to the beaches. Very convenient, new, clean and quiet. An excellent free breakfast and hospitable staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank MarkoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear MarkoLA, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay this Spring Break. We really appreciate the comments regarding cleanliness and our breakfast. Perhaps we will see you again if you visit in the summer months! Best, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Good value for the price. A basic/average hotel for a good price. Eat at East Coast Pizza (very close) for a great dinner deal. Close to the coast which is great. Good area. I would stay again for the good deal.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank cysnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay this March. We will most certainly try to work harder to earn a 5-star rating the next time you stay with us! Best, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We stayed for a weekend break to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were pleased with this hotel. It was definitely a good value. The two people I worked with at the Front Desk were exceptionally friendly and service oriented. My wife commented on how good the breakfast was, especially nice as it is included in the room costs. We were not looking for all of the amenities, just a clean, comfortable, and safe accommodation. Of course it was HUGE that the property is dog friendly as we had to include our entire family, the dogs enjoyed their stay as well. This is an expensive area and this property is definitely recommended if you are looking for affordable.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JJLMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear JJLMc, We're so happy you chose to stay with us for your wife's birthday celebration. Thank you for providing feedback about your stay. We do take great pride in offering a full breakfast and clean, comfortable accommodations. How cool you could bring your dogs along for the trip! As a fellow pet lover, I love hearing when we can make your experience, as well as your dogs experience a great one! Sincerely, Andrew Nintzel, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Beautiful location N of San Diego & E of Santa Fe, CA. Faces bay & view starts with driving up, up to registry. Covered parking underneath the whole building, elevators nicely spaced along N wall to floors. Very nice breakfast available in back Courtyard with dining inside and out. Rooms clean, large, especially ones with large full sized kitchenette. My brother enjoyed his hikes every morning and use of the gym.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Skicheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Skicheese, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us this February. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed beautiful Rancho Santa Fe and the surrounding North County area. Thank you for choosing our hotel, especially when we know there are so many options.
Best, AWN, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews