We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$123
Expedia.comUS$123
Hotels.comUS$123
CheapTicketsUS$123
TravelocityUS$123
Orbitz.comUS$123
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 354)
Filter reviews
1 354 results
Traveller rating
781
353
144
50
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
781
353
144
50
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews botanical gardens dino park mud bath hummingbird area hot springs costa rica zip lining front office cold pool butterfly enclosure natural sauna front porch waterfall tour dirt road spring pools off the beaten path huge bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1 354 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2021

We loved the location, the room, the property but the food was terrible. The staff was very nice we did not have any issue with them. 1st night we ordered a Caesar salad, Greek salad, pasta primavera and garlic bread. My husband ate the Caesar salad but there was way too much dressing. My Greek salad was not a Greek salad. It was a regular salad with cheap soft cheese. The pasta primavera was supposed to be with garlic and olive oil. It came with a tomato sauce. We had garlic bread too that we had to send back because it was not toasted. They did take the items off the bill that we sent back. Next morning at the buffet the food was all cold. I tried to take a few pieces of fruit back to my room and was told no I could not. Next night we ordered a pizza which was ok and wanted to take it back to our room where we were told its the hotel's policy that you cannot take food from the restaurant to your room even though we paid for it. There are no other options to eat in the area except a small soda. My husband is a resident of CR and a chef and I have travelled around the world and have never been told you cannot take food you have paid for to your room. When asked at check out we told the staff exactly what we have said here. Disappointed otherwise the hotel is very nice.

Room tip: Room are very nice
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyhY2512KZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue River Resort, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Hola Kathy - so glad to know you enjoyed your experience at our paradise on earth. Regarding the food, we sincerely feel badly. Fortunately, long time chef Jorvis's client feedback receives overwhelming positive reviews. The menu contains a good variety of Tico and North American choices, including vegetarian options. To all those reading this reply, please know that should a customer have particular preferences, we are also always happy to accommodate. And in comparison to equivalent restaurants, the prices are kept intentionally reasonable.
We thank you for coming and hope you'll return for another fun filled holiday.
Pura Vida!
Yours truly,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2021 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at Blue River for two nights during our Costa Rican get away. We loved being immersed in the beautiful landscape at this resort. They really do keep the ground immaculate. It was great to see tucans flying in the morning and if you are lucky the sloth in the tree by the spa. The staff at the restaurant were amazing and even brought us some of their home made pickled vegetables and sauces to try with our meal. The front desk was great when we decided to book a trip to Cathedral Falls and our guide Kevin was so informative I made a very worthy experience. It was also amazing to see the volcanoes in your backyard and the steam coming out of them throughout the day. If you really want to see Costa Rica this is the way to do it!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Smurphsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue River Resort, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Hola! We are so very appreciative of your comments and happy you enjoyed your time at our little paradise on earth. There are many reason to venture here. In Guanacaste we are not only the only area in the rain forest, we are the only place that can also has volcano crater views, natural hot springs and blue rivers. The magical Cathedral Waterfalls is on the blue river Rio Azul and we have many more tours to spectacular spots.
Again, thank you and please help us spread the word.
Yours truly,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2021

Went end of February 2021, had a fantastic time. Loved the warm spring pools. Had great food at the on-site restaurant. Lot's of neat birds and animals on site, with lush greenery. Took two tours while there: zip line and Cathedral Falls, both were great. Cathedral Falls is quite an adventure with the river crossing, wear clothes and shoes that you don't mind getting wet or muddy. Nice staff. Made some very nice memories.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank integrator53151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue River Resort, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

Hola! All of us - staff and management - feel really enthused after reading your comments. So glad you came. The staff send their best and we hope you return real soon.
Yours truly,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

We had a wonderfull time in the resort! We enjoyed the nature, the natural hot springs, delicious food, and most import the quality of the personnel always kind and super attentive. the rooms are veri spacious and comfortable.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shiaos2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue River Resort, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Hola! Thanks very much for your review. Please help us spread the word.
Hopefully we'll see you back again soon.
Yours truly,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021 via mobile

This place is remote and quaint, but so worth the trip. It's located in tropical rainforest. In addition to the pools and hot springs, the grounds include a beautiful botanical garden, butterfly pavilion, and is naturally home to a plethora of tropical birds. You will see them without even trying. The resort offers tours to see some truly amazing waterfalls. They also run a Dino Park only a few minutes drive which was fun for all. The staff was great, they aim to please. Our tour guide at the Dino Park, Kevin, was very knowledgeable on the local flora and fauna, and made the experience an all around pleasure.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cynthiabD6301BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue River Resort, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Hola! Thanks very much for your kind review. The staff and management always get extra motivated by this. Please help us spread the word.
Yours truly,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews