We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded our Expectations!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
the kitchenette
gurgling fountain
garden room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dlreid6
Torrance, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our Expectations!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Cambria Sea Star was a wonderful vacation for my friend and I! The cottage is decorated beautiful and the gardens are awesome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very beautiful and relaxing
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobiR76
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“A charming oasis of relaxation”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Grear and friendly hosts, a wonderfully decorated room, lots of lovely and high quality furnishings, a wonderful patio at the back of the house in front of the room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This rental was absolutely phenomenal in every sense of the word.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There are few places that deliver everything, but this place has it all and more. Upon arriving we were welcomed by Denise who is so warm and made us feel very welcomed. The cottage was pristine, even better than the photos. So much character and personality in the place, it was truly a pleasure to stay at L'etoile De Mer.
Not only was the room great but the area is so lovely, a short distance from the town, we enjoyed exploring the community and went for long walks both in the mornings and evenings. Great walk to the beach from the house. Saw deer throughout the area. It was a delight. We cannot wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all... from the crisp clean linens and fresh fruit to the lovely patio and peach cobbler.
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ymurray
Menlo Park, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed three nights at the Sea Star and had a fabulous time. The location is "off the beaten path", by which I mean it's not in downtown Cambria but in a lovely residential area that is a short walk from the coastal access and hiking trails. Denise had great suggestions for hiking, kayaking and wine tasting activities. The accommodations are tucked away at the back of the house, with a separate entrance so it feels very private. They have a lovely courtyard area just outside the room, which is perfect for relaxing with a good book. We definitely recommend the Sea Star.
Other reviewers have commented on the breakfast and it was perfect for us, but it depends on what you are expecting. This isn't a B&B that serves you a hot, elaborate breakfast at a specific time. They provide everything needed for simple breakfasts during your stay, and you have a small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot in the room. It was perfect for us to have simple, healthy breakfasts. Of course, we later would indulge in fabulous dinners and didn't have to feel too guilty because we had started the day out in moderation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryElle...
San Luis Obispo County, California
1 review
“L'Etoile de Mer is a lovely spot and I highly recommend it.”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We only live 40 miles from Cambria but staying at L'Etoile de Mer for the weekend felt like a real vacation. The hosts are delightful and have thoughtfully chosen décor and amenities to ensure their guests comfort and convenience. The guest space is private, quiet and very clean. L'Etoile de Mer is a lovely spot and I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing