We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent bungalow”

Review of The Old Chandlery

Hill Head Harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hill Head Harbour
French Doors to Garden Enclosed Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Hill Head Harbour
French Doors to Garden
Enclosed Garden
Kitchen & Breakfast Bar
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Second Bedroom sleeps 2
Master Bedroom
Hill Head Beach less than 1 minutes walk
Open plan Lounge & Dining Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hill Head, Fareham, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marc K
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent bungalow”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The property was in excellent condition and well worth staying in for a well earned break, the location is excellent for the surrounding area you have everything on your door step or very close.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the presentation of the property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison l
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great property in lovely location”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Holidaying with a wheelchair user and 2 small dogs it's not always easy to find a property to suit our needs, let alone one in such close proximity to the sea.

The bungalow is tucked away at the end of a residential road, opposite Breezes Cafe, next to a Chinese take away, and opposite a pub, however, despite it being the height of summer holidays, there was no noise the whole week we stayed.

The bungalow is deceptively spacious from the little frontage you see from the road, and the garden was perfect for my 2 Cavs. It's light and airy inside, and decorated beautifully with a nautical feel. Outside the property is nicely dog secure with a picket fence and gate out front, then fenced and hedged back garden.

Access to the property was ideal for the wheelchair, and inside was easy to manoeuvre. Access to the back garden is down 2 steps, but luckily I had taken my portable ramp otherwise it would've been a bit steep to bump down. Alternatively, there's access around the side gate with just 1 step down.

The kitchen is well equipped and has a double oven which is ideal for family meals, however, if you're not a fan of self catering, we can personally recommend Breezes Cafe, and if you don't want to venture over to eat, they do take away, so most mornings started with a full English or a Nutella waffle (yummmmm!). In the spirit of supporting local business of course we also had a Chinese take away from next door (lush) and dinner at the Osborne View pub (views amazing, food ok)

The location of the property is fantastic... We arrived for the end of Cowes week, and 50yds from door could enjoy the fireworks across the Solent. Less than a mile down the road is a lovely little marina where you can feed the ducks and swans, and further along enjoy the kite surfers on Meon Shore, as well as walk along the long wheelchair friendly boulevard.

Tracey the owner is lovely to deal with and available for any assistance.

The configuration definitely works for mixed families, and we would happily return...
Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katiesuza...
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time away here.

The holiday bungalow was very well kept and the decoration was very nice and clean. The location is absolutely perfect as it is literally a two minute walk down a little "side-road" to the sea. There is a friendly local cafe called Beaches opposite the bungalow and a brilliant pub, and again i recommend a visit, which has view across the estuary and is perfect on a summers evening.

I do think that people should be aware that there is a car park opposite the bungalow that belongs to the pub, but this isn't noisy as we were initially worried about this. In fact, on the morning of our departure, we parked there and went for a beautiful walk along the sea front and then returned to the pub for a spot of lunch - parking was free!

In conclusion, the lady who owns this place (who you liaise with when booking) keeps it to a very high, homely and hygienic standard and is easy to connect and deal with. The bungalow is perfectly formed and has everything you need. It is beautiful and in a perfect location for amenities and for travel to local towns and cities and we will definitely be making yearly visits from now on.

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decor
Liked least: i liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevjinx
Cognac
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful bungalow. Superb location”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just spent a fantastic six weeks here whilst house-hunting in the area. The bungalow is great - spotlessly clean, very well equipped and with a lovely "feel". With so many facilities close by and the view of the Isle of Wight from the front door, we didn't want to leave! The owners are very pleasant, friendly and helpful. We can thoroughly recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and the location
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOSS28
NEWTON ABBOT, DEVON
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay. Ideal for young family.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Brilliant bungalow. Stayed here during the Easter holidays to celebrate two family members birthdays. Really good for young children, ours were 4 years and 13 months. The fact that the bungalow was so opened, helped to keep an eye on them both. Ideally situated in Hill Head across the road from the Osbourne View pub, considering the location we never really heard any noise from outside. We know the area very well and this was a great location for getting out and about. The owner was on hand if we had any problems and was a lovely lady. The rooms are decorated with a bright, relaxing feel. Would definitely visit and stay at this property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tha spacious feel of the bungalow.
Liked least: The bedroom windows let more light in.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing