We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of Fisherman's Cove

Fisherman's Cove
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Fisherman's Cove is a local, family-owned seafood shack and fishing-marine supply store specializing in fresh local oysters that are grown on Tamales Bay. We serve them on the half shell or barbecued with your choice of six different house specialty sauces such as garlic butter sauce, cocktail sauce, chorizo butter with a hint of lemon and more. Try our unique oysters with pesto sauce and applewood bacon, or opt for our oysters Kilpatrick or Sweet Heaters with pickled jalepeno, shallots and raw mignonette. All of our ingredients are incredibly fresh, from the local Dungeness crab and hormone-free meats to organic vegetables and homemade sauces. We are committed to serving creative and delicious fare made with the best ingredients available
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We are visiting from Texas and staying in Napa. We were off to have lunch in Sonoma. However, after looking at a map, we thought let's go to the water. Enough of the wine country stuff. Enter Bodega Bay. Nice little place and after viewing the extraordinary views of the Pacific from the state park we decided to stop for lunch at Fisherman's Cove. We were a little worried it might be a dirty little place. We were way wrong not only was it clean, the staff is great and the food was excellent. Great experience and way to enjoy an easy lunch and relax. Highly recommend this little get away from wine country and enjoy the ocean air and great crab.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mcupps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thanks for visiting us all the way from Texas! We're so glad that you found us on the map and that you enjoyed lunch with a view here. The crab was a great choice. Also, we appreciate you recommending us! We'll be here for you the next time you make it out to CA!

Have a nice day,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

While my Daughter, my Son-in-Law and myself were enjoying the clam chowder at a neighboring restaurant, my wife, who won't eat chowder, went to this restaurant for fish and chips. It proved to be on the greasy side, but tasty. Maybe she'll reconsider the clam chowder for our next visit.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Paul, thanks for stopping in for clam chowder and fish 'n chips! Our chowder is very popular here, so we're glad you both enjoyed it. As for the fish 'n chips, we'll take your thoughts into consideration. We have a lot of other great items, including our crab sandwich and oysters, to try next time as well!

Have a great day,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Great local seafood restaurant. Fantastic clam chowder and the oysters were to die for. Outside and inside tables, quick service and cold beer.

Thank rem00232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Seafood is what we do best here! Thanks for enjoying some clam chowder and oysters with us. We're so glad that you found the service wonderful as well. See you again the next time you're by the bay.

Have a nice day,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Fisherman's Cove sells fishing equipment and has a snack bar/cafe with simple seafood. We had a Dungeness Crab salad and fish tacos. They are known for their fried oysters and clam chowder - we did start out with some clam chowder, which was good, but declined on the oysters which may have been better. The crab salad seemed like the crabmeat had been previously frozen - not as flavorful as i expected it to be.
The fish tacos were very good, the beer cold and the service friendly and quick (we were there for a late weekday lunch.)

Thank dwisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thanks for stopping in for lunch! We're glad to hear that you gave a handful of our items a try. All of our seafood is fresh and local. The oysters come from right down the road! Hopefully you'll be able to give those a try next time so we can impress you even more with our high quality dishes.

Have a nice day,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Long wait in line to order was well worth it.
Great fried oysters, raw oysters, fish & chips. Nice beer and wine selection.
A little pricey.

Thank 1Johnny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Fisherman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

We're glad to hear that the food lived up to the wait! We work hard to make everything delicious and to get it out to you quickly, so thanks for the patience. Come back to see us again on the bay soon!

Have a great day,
Fisherman's Cove Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Cove also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing