We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out ”

Capricorn Seakayaking
Book In Advance
More Info
US$130,44*
and up
Penguin and Seal Island Kayak Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spend a full day sea kayaking through the Shoalwater Islands Marine Park and get up close and personal with Australian wildlife in and out of the water. Take a guided walk to explore Penguin Island and enjoy snorkelling among the limestone reef full of marine life. Its a fun filled day out for those of all ages. Penguin and Seal Island are part of Shoalwater Islands Marine Park, which is approximately 45 minutes south of Perth City or 5 minutes south of Rockingham. Sea kayaking is a fantastic way to explore these rugged limestone islands (approx 1km offshore) and their unique wildlife including: Australia SeaLions, Little Blue Penguins, Colonies of Pelicans and thousands of other sea birds that use these islands as safe nesting places. We also offer snorkelling during the warm summer months as a way of exploring these shallow waters, limestone reefs and fish life. We Provide: Double sea kayaks (traditional sit inside, with rudders for comfortable cruising), paddles, lifejackets, long sleeve sun shirts, hats, dry bags (for valuables), snorkelling gear (during the warmer summer months), entry fee into the Penguin Discovery Centre, qualified guide, morning tea/lunch (we can cater for dietary requirements), transport to and from Rockingham Train Station, smiles, wildlife and a great time! You Bring: Drinking water, sunscreen, bathers/boardies, camera, thongs/sandals/crocs. A jacket can be handy during the cooler spring and autumn months. Some people like a change of clothes to put on after the paddle. When: 26th September 2015 to 25th April 2016 Minimum Number: 2 Persons Pick Up: Rockingham Train Station- Please be there for a 7.55 pick up, we will be driving a white van towing a trailer load of yellow sea kayaks. Return approximately 2.00pm. Meet us at Shoalwater- Please be there by 8.05, at Pengos Cafe car park, Penguin rd intersection, Shoalwater.
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

We had a great day out with Hal and 4 other people. Paddled to Bird Island as the weather was great and then Seal Is. and then to Penguin Is. for morning tea. We went in to the Penguin Show then went for a guided walk around the island and a snorkel. Hal had a lunch of wraps prepared for us back in a park on Penguin Is. After that we paddled back.

Thank jackandy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"morning tea and lunch"
in 7 reviews
"seal island"
in 9 reviews
"sea lions"
in 21 reviews
"lovely morning"
in 3 reviews
"great adventure"
in 2 reviews
"guided walk"
in 2 reviews
"paddle"
in 10 reviews
"hal"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017

Great Kayak trip. Saw Dolphins before we set off and also during the trip. We went as a group of 10 and 6 others joined us. Mixed ability of kayaking. The guides were really patient and helped the weaker members of the team which was much appreciated. We went over to seal island and was given local info about the seals and then went over to Penguin island. Went for a tour around the island which was extremely windy (take a jacket) and saw plenty of penguins too. Lunch was delicious and then paddled back again with the guides helping as it was very windy and some of us struggled. A very enjoyable day.

Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Great kayak trip. Saw dolphins before we left the beach and during trip. Also saw a sea lion. Lots of birds and information. Good food too. Thanks Hal

Thank iandl137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hal P, Owner at Capricorn Seakayaking, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hi guys, thanks for the review, it was a pleasure sharing the day sea kayaking with you, Having nature share her bounty with us made for a pretty cool day.
Hope to see you out on the water again sometime, H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Took my parents out for the day and we loved every minute of it - saw sea lions, penguins, loads of fish, an octopus, crabs, birds - it was an awesome day out. Hal was incredible, full of information and genuinely wanted everyone to have a good time. Excellent value for money with lovely morning tea and lunch included - Hal took care of everything, we just turned up and paddled the kayaks. This is a really beautiful part of the world and I would recommend it to everyone, all of us had a wonderful time.

Thank Maisie1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017

The sea kayak tour with our guide Hal was very nice. We did see sea lions who came up really close to the kayak. What an amazing sight.
On penguin island we had morning tea and lunch. Both Picknick Style, a walking tour and an opportunity to snorkel
Would have liked to spend more time along seal island.
Great day out.

Thank ls5783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capricorn Seakayaking also viewed

Rockingham, Greater Perth
 
Rockingham, Greater Perth
Safety Bay, Greater Perth
 

Been to Capricorn Seakayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing