We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
409
151
38
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
409
151
38
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reserve private dinner eagles nest bush camp day trip self catering beautiful place breathtaking views hidden gem pamper package an amazing experience thoroughly enjoyed our stay world class attention to detail top class staff were friendly an overnight stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2023

We stayed for 2 nights in the amazing Riversbend accommodation. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Fixtures, fittings and features were top class and had been thought out with care and attention. You wont get a better view from a bath in all the rooms being ensuite. The weather was not great whilst there so unfortunately, so couldn't take advantage of the outside area which was a huge shame as it was wonderful with an infinity plunge pool, overlooking majestic views of the valley, wood fired hot tub, hammock style platform perfect to watch weaver birds in action or star gazing as well as a boma to sit around a fire. Although the weather prevented us using outdoor facilities, we were cozy and warm with the indoor fire. Cannot recommend this highly enough.
We all had a massage in the spa, meals and drinks in restaurant and went on a game drive. A big shout out to all the staff who were so accommodating changing times and order of our activities to suit our needs. I wish you all the success with this wonderful venue and thank you for making our stay so special.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrequentFlier267293
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Thank you for your great review! We are thrilled that had such a happy time at Gwahumbe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2023

Visited Gwahumbe for the second time and found it better than the last.The new restaurant serves meals that are world class and the friendly staff are amazing.Accommadation is everything you could wish for and a self drive around the resort was simple and lots of fun even in the rain.The staff stop at nothing to make your stay enjoyable.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X4888ZAcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you created happy Gwahumbe memories. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023

The overall experience was good. The staff are friendly. The views are impeccable and tranquil. The best experience of the luxury package was the game drive. John was an exceptional guide, very informative and passionate about the wildlife. The spa was nice, the massage was good - they need to invest in spa robes/gowns. In terms of food,
the mains were good just very disappointed by dessert after asking the staff if the waffle was freshly made and she confirmed, we received unfresh and stale waffles. Lastly, very disappointed in the unmaintained pool, they need to do better and have a clean and maintained pool safe to swim. Overall a good experience, I would recommend!

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mimim11112023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review Gwahumbe. We dont use spa gowns for single massages. We utilise them when people have more than one treatment. We apologise about the waffles. They are normally made daily to order. We have adressed with the kitchen. We were having issues with our pool pump at the time of your visit and do apologise for this. The pump has been replaced and the pool is back in operation. Thanks once again for advising us of these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023

We had an amazing stay. Its pricey but if you want luxury you'll certainly find it. The lady at the desk was incredible. She was always willing to help even to the point of coming to the cottage during the storm to see why the generator hadn't kicked in. She was helpful and super accommodating.

My only complaint (just to be fair) is that our towels smelled damp so that could be improved. Nevertheless i wish we could have extended our stay. We loved it.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephsn2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review Gwahumbe. We are thrilled that you had a good time. Thank you for bringing the towels to our attention. This has been addressed with both the laundry and the housekeeping teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023

The main lodge was recently reopened following a fire in 2020. Everything is beautiful with lovely soft furnishings and interiors of natural wood and glass.
The room was a bit older but very spacious and comfortable with peaceful balcony.
We had dinner which was very nice and a great breakfast the next day. Service was good too, We are 2 females and wanted 2 single beds so the king bed was very quickly changed for us.
We saw some buck, zebra and ostrich on the game drive but no giraffe unfortunately. Lodge is in a beautiful location though so scenery was nice. Buck coming past our room was great to see.
If you are looking for a game lodge experience at a reasonable price and not too worried about seeing big 5 then this location is for you. I was wishing we had one extra night to try the Spa.
Some kms on a gravel road but I had a sedan and was ok.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcguinnessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled that you created happy Gwahumbe memories. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews