We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
R 3 700
Fully refundable before Thu, 14 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
R 3 700
Fully refundable before Thu, 14 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
409
151
38
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
409
151
38
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reserve private dinner eagles nest bush camp day trip self catering beautiful place breathtaking views hidden gem pamper package an amazing experience thoroughly enjoyed our stay world class attention to detail top class staff were friendly an overnight stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2023

The overall experience was good. The staff are friendly. The views are impeccable and tranquil. The best experience of the luxury package was the game drive. John was an exceptional guide, very informative and passionate about the wildlife. The spa was nice, the massage was good - they need to invest in spa robes/gowns. In terms of food,
the mains were good just very disappointed by dessert after asking the staff if the waffle was freshly made and she confirmed, we received unfresh and stale waffles. Lastly, very disappointed in the unmaintained pool, they need to do better and have a clean and maintained pool safe to swim. Overall a good experience, I would recommend!

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mimim11112023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review Gwahumbe. We dont use spa gowns for single massages. We utilise them when people have more than one treatment. We apologise about the waffles. They are normally made daily to order. We have adressed with the kitchen. We were having issues with our pool pump at the time of your visit and do apologise for this. The pump has been replaced and the pool is back in operation. Thanks once again for advising us of these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2023

We had an amazing stay. Its pricey but if you want luxury you'll certainly find it. The lady at the desk was incredible. She was always willing to help even to the point of coming to the cottage during the storm to see why the generator hadn't kicked in. She was helpful and super accommodating.

My only complaint (just to be fair) is that our towels smelled damp so that could be improved. Nevertheless i wish we could have extended our stay. We loved it.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephsn2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review Gwahumbe. We are thrilled that you had a good time. Thank you for bringing the towels to our attention. This has been addressed with both the laundry and the housekeeping teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2023

The main lodge was recently reopened following a fire in 2020. Everything is beautiful with lovely soft furnishings and interiors of natural wood and glass.
The room was a bit older but very spacious and comfortable with peaceful balcony.
We had dinner which was very nice and a great breakfast the next day. Service was good too, We are 2 females and wanted 2 single beds so the king bed was very quickly changed for us.
We saw some buck, zebra and ostrich on the game drive but no giraffe unfortunately. Lodge is in a beautiful location though so scenery was nice. Buck coming past our room was great to see.
If you are looking for a game lodge experience at a reasonable price and not too worried about seeing big 5 then this location is for you. I was wishing we had one extra night to try the Spa.
Some kms on a gravel road but I had a sedan and was ok.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcguinnessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled that you created happy Gwahumbe memories. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2023

Everything was pleasant, the food and was very nice. The staff was very friendly and loving. We really enjoyed the massage and the game drive experience. I would strongly recommend Gwahumbe to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Journey47620390394
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled that you created happy Gwahumbe memories. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023

I booked the luxury mini package which consisted of a massage, safari tour and lunch. The booking process was seamless. The massage was professional and relaxing with the spa rooms overlooking a magnificent view of the valley. The safari experience was informative and the guide extremely knowledgeable. Lunch was delicious and quite a large portion size. There was a lot of attention to detail, and the manager even included a delicious mini chocolate cake as a kind gesture for my husband's birthday. Overall a wonderful experience and highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lish_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shanon MacKenzie, Owner at Gwahumbe Game & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2023

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled that you created happy Gwahumbe memories. Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews