We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Amazed about Benicia”

Benicia Historical Museum
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Benicia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Benicia Historical Museum at the Camel Barns is located in the heart of the historic Benicia Arsenal (The Arsenal land was turned over to the City of Benicia in 1964 from the US Army.) The Museum highlights local history from the Patwin Tribes to modern times with our Sustainability and Granizo Art Tiles exhibits. At the Museum you will learn how this little city reflects the larger changes of the state of California and how Benicia influenced several of these changes. "The history California is written in the story of Benicia."
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We Finally came to the Museum, and it is a gem. The address is on Camel Road (the North end of the huge building), but the ENTRANCE is on Fir road (the South end of the same two story building). The Museum is just north of the merge of Interstate 780 and Interstate 680, and I had a hard time getting my bearings, but Sweetheart was fine. The Museum is small, but packs a lot of information. The Docents know a lot of Benicia history, and were very helpful. They offer sales of several books, and a few souvenirs, also. This trip could be a quick one, or you could read everything regarding the displays and easily spend an hour or more here. It made us go downtown and look at many landmarks. This was a nice relaxed afternoon.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local history"
in 4 reviews
"historical museum"
in 4 reviews
"great visit"
in 2 reviews
"camel"
in 8 reviews
"businesses"
in 2 reviews
"docent"
in 6 reviews
"exhibits"
in 2 reviews
"gem"
in 2 reviews
"california"
in 4 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2016

Mike, the docent was full of information and also helped me plan a scenic route for the rest of my trip!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Poetrydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

This is an excellent museum covering lots of Benicia history. It’s not often we visit a used camel lot. The docents are knowledgeable, friendly and present their information in an easy to understand way. I’ve lived in The Bay Area since 1949. This is the first time we’ve spent any time in Benicia and now realize what a lot of history is there. Used Camels, railroad ferries, arsenals, buildings manufactured on the East Coast and assembled in town, the State Capitol, along with pretty grounds make for a great day. Bring a snack and children along. Unfortunately no camels there.

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

For 40 years we've driven past Benica and never stopped. We decided to have lunch at the first street cafe and while there wondered about this town and it's history. The museum was a little hidden gem. We had to hunt for it but we're glad we did. It's a small town museum but it's simple displays were very informative there were a few hands on things for children to do. I'd stop there again and explore the area more next time?

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Dave49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Stopped by on our day trip to Benicia (lived there for 18 years), and found a photo of my dad on a poster board depicting his role in the Jimmy Doolittle raid on Tokyo. It was wonderful to see, as you can imagine. He was head of personnel at the Benicia Arsenal Army Depot before if closed down in the 60's. My grandson was amazed to see and read about his great grandfather and now considers him a hero. The museum is quite well done and most interesting if you are interested in local history.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank pres2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benicia Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Benicia Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing