We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large building serving Cajun style food.”

French Quarter Creole Bar & Grill
Get food delivered
Ranked #30 of 135 Restaurants in Bellflower
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very large restaurant with a stage, dance floor, and big bar. Took us a while to get a drink, as the bar staff seemed to be occupied somewhere else. Ordered a couple of call drinks, seemed a little expensive at $12.10 a shot, so changed to well vodka and got two shots for the same price! Overall, the service was bad and we did not feel welcome, they have an outside patio of sorts with large chairs where patrons were smoking very unpleasant cigars.
With so many great bars and restaurants on Bellflower Blvd, we will not be going back.

TIP: In better times they had live music here, call ahead to see if they have live music. |
Thanks for reading. would appreciate a thumbs up if you’ve found this helpful?

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed the food but most of all the entertainment. Southside Slim and the Blues Cats were awesome. The Open Mic guest performers were all very talented and keep the place jumping. I would definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Some old southern recipes coming out of this kitchen .... NOLA, NOLA Big bar but drinks are pricy. Food is reasonably priced for what you get. Family owned .....

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank 947susang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

The French Quarter is in downtown Bellflower, about a 1/2 mile north of the 91 Freeway. There is free parking in the lot behind. It has a nice dance floor, full bar, and live music several nights a week.
It seems to me that this place can't decide if it wants to be a restaurant with a bar, or a bar that serves food on the side.
Most of the people there seemed to be there just for drinks, with maybe some munchies.

We ordered the catfish dinner, which comes fried or grilled. It comes with potato salad and a vegetable. The catfish was very good, moist and tasty. The potato salad was also good, although the portion was stingy. The vegetable was greens (turnip, I believe), served in a largish bowl. I was raised on Southern food but I have never liked greens; these were bitter and, in my opinion, undercooked.
The sweet tea was good, and our server was attentive and very nice.
The recorded music was so loud we couldn't hear each other without shouting, even though we were a foot apart.
In my opinion they should first decide if they are a restaurant or a bar.
If they want to be a restaurant, they should increase the portion size of the potato salad, serve some vegetable other than greens, and offer corn bread or hush puppies. And definitely turn down the music.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank cherylg856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The red beans and rice were good. The fried pickles were great. The Hurricane was strong. Was not a fan of the camera man. Heaws a little pushy in getting you buy photos taken while trying to eat

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank MrsKBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Quarter Creole Bar & Grill also viewed

Bellflower, CA
Bellflower, CA
 
Bellflower, CA
 

Been to French Quarter Creole Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.