We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oudrif
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cederberg
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Klawer Hotel(Klawer)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vredendal Hotel(Vredendal)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lamberts Bay Hotel(Lamberts Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lutzville Hotel(Lutzville)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
69
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstraw baledoring riversaladhomemade breadgreat companycave paintingsfantastic hostsbird watchinghot waterfantastic experiencemorning walkdelicious vegetarian foodfriendly dogsno cell phonessouth africaperfect placeoff the beaten track
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a peaceful escape from the ratrace and the madness that comes with modern life, Oudrif is the perfect place. No cell phones to interrupt the songs of wild birds. No tv to dull the brightness of the stars. Your hosts Jeanine and Bill will make you feel right at home. The food is excellent, plentiful and freshly prepared. Even though it is mostly vegetarian, meat lovers are not forgotten and well catered for. Can recommend Oudrif for a perfect getaway.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raoulduplooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

No internet, cell phone or TV - just peace and relaxation in a delightful setting near the river with delicious food, superb hosts and very comfortable accommodation. What more do you need? - oh yes, a couple of dogs to accompany you on your walks to the rock art or in your boat - wonderful!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank CapeTownLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

My husband booked us into Oudrif last week for a stunning 4 night stay. It is a remote ecolodge with well appointed strawbale cottages and excellently clean amenities. My bug fetish was not realised here! There was also no internet or cellphone reception which was a wonderful change for us and, we realised afterwards, quite needed. Bill and Jeanine are excellent hosts and cooks (both extremely knowledgeable about a wide range of their passions), and over our 5 days we met some interesting people passing through the lodge. We loved the walks with Bill and the dogs in the mornings, followed by a chilled day either sleeping, reading books or swimming in the river with a row in a canoe thrown in too. Very little to do which was absolutely perfect for us. And the food was marvellous - good home-cooked delicious vegetarian food, with meat served with the evening meal.
I could not ask for a more ideal "get-away-from-it-all" holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We spent 39 blissful hours off the grid at Oudrif. Barefoot luxury, great food, enough to do if you want to hike, bike, explore and discover; abundant solitude if you need to recharge your batteries. An easy, scenic drive from Clanwilliam, well described (to the last rock) on their emailed "Directions" sheet. Entertaining dinner-time conversation and lots of laughter! Planning our third visit ...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AmeliaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Oudrif is a tiny, beautiful ecolodge in the Cedarberg mountains. My husband and I just returned from a weekend there and are so pleased we went. One of the things that impressed us so much about our delightful hosts is how they "walk the talk". Both are passionate conservationists with a deep commitment and caring for animals and the environment. Their beautiful lodge is therefore extremely eco friendly in design. In addition they are vegetarians who eat nothing with a face, and Jeanine, despite her extremely busy life, leads an organisation called Claws which works in impoverished communities sterilising pets and educating the locals about pets. Bill is very knowledgeable about the local plants and the geology of the area as well as the bushman art on the property, and he took us on a wonderful informative walk during which we learnt so much of interest. In addition they are down to earth, lots of fun to spend time with and they cook beautifully. We adored the food. Lots of delicious vegetarian dishes, but they also cook meat each night for the carnivores.

The chalets themselves are a delight. Each has a beautiful view and is original in design and layout. The beds were comfortable, and the showers were excellent. We were also impressed by how spotlessly clean they were.

Oudrif is a wonderful place, with delightful hosts. Go if you can. I would recommend more than two nights: it takes at least a day to stop fretting about the children (as it is off the grid there is no cell phone or internet connection) and to overcome the strong need to offer to help out in the kitchen (they won't let you). Also, bear in mind your own weather preferences. We went in spring which was wonderfully cool and green. In summer the temperatures go to over 40 in the day and barely drop over night so if you don't like the heat don't go in summer!

We had a lovely time at Oudrif. Go. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: All the rooms have lovely views and are well spaced for privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 4Jones29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews