We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm and welcoming home-from-home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glendarroch House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mike R
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm and welcoming home-from-home”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We have been visiting Assynt every year since 1994, and ever since our first visit we have tried to stay at Glendarroch - July 2013 was I think our 15th (?) stay...

Glendarroch is to us the perfect home-from-home; warm,welcoming and well-equipped. Seemingly secluded in its beautiful glen, it is in reality within walking distance of Lochinver's shops, restaurants and pubs.

The Assynt countryside is truly spectacular and Glendarroch is situated in the middle of it all - the wee local walk from Baddiddarrach to Ardroe and onwards to the lovely machair beach at Achmelvich gives wonderful views of the beautiful landscape...longer walks in thelocal countryside are even more impressive - take the long walk to the base of Suilven, then an hour's scramble up to the bealach for a stunning stroll to the top...Wow!!! God's country indeed...

You just cannot beat a lazy sunny afternoon with a glass of wine on the front lawn at Glendarroch...basking in the best view in Scotland...

I'm glad I have already booked our 2014 visit!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities, views
Liked least: midgies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert S
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An excellent location in Lochinver”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
5
people found this review helpful

This is the 6th time we have stayed in this house and the repetition speaks for itself. We would not have returned had we not thought it excellent. It a well appointed, easily accessible and comfortable house with an extremely well equipped kitchen. The addition of a second bathroom upstairs several years ago greatly improved the facilities and enables two couples to stay with a good degree of privacy. The views are stunning and we have seen the eagle and stags from the windows every year we have we have visited. For peace and tranquillity, comfort, convenience I cannot recommend this house strongly enough. Additionally Mrs Graham leaves the place spotless for the next party and cannot be faulted with her attention to detail. We always leave her a small pour boire.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallulahb...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Have recently returned from a fantastic family holiday at Glendarroch. The house is spacious and very well equipped- especially the kitchen! It had everything we needed, as well as comfy beds and a great power shower.
The house was spotless and warm when we arrived, and there was everything we needed to make a cup of tea and relax after the long drive. The evening that we arrived we had a call from the owner just to check that we were settled and had everything we needed which was a really nice, personal touch. This house has belonged to one family for generations and it's obvious that it's a well loved and cared for home.
The weather was amazing while we were there, so we made full use of the beautiful beaches and scenery- including many barbecues gazing at the mountains from the house itself! Although it feels like you're a million miles away, Lochinver itself is only a short walk and has nice pubs and shops- would recommend the pie shop, the Roux restaurant for lunch and the Albannach for something special.
All in all a fantastic home from home- we'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.