We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Serenity”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Meall Dubh

Meall Dubh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Meall Dubh
Meall Dubh Bedroom Sea view from Meall Dubh garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Meall Dubh
Meall Dubh Bedroom
Sea view from Meall Dubh garden
View across Assynt from the Trig Point (Walk from Meall Dubh)
Raffin Beach
Balcladich beach near Meall Dubh
Stoer Lighthouse at Sunset
Stoer Head Lighthouse (15 minute walk from Meall Dubh)
Suilven in winter from Meall Dubh
Old Man of Stoer (walk from Meall Dubh)
Suilven + Cul Mor from Meall Dubh
Cul Mor on way to Ullapool
Suilven from viewpoint on the way to Lochinver
View towards Assynt from just by Meall Dubh
Puffin at Handa Island (1 hour drive from Meall Dubh)
Red Deer stag on Lochinver loop walk
Seals at Oldany Island (15 mins from Meall Dubh)
Quinag from Trig Point near Meall Dubh
View of Suliven from the cottage changes constantly
Sunset over Isle of Harris viewed from the garden
Meall Dubh in the foreground, Suilvenin the background
Sunset over Isle of Harris viewed from the garden
Basking Shark (fin !) from Raffin beach
Photo of 2 Killer Whales(Orca)  taken from Meall Dubh
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blether18
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serenity ”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in Meall Dubh cottage in the first week in March, which being off season felt like we had the area to ourselves. On arrival out first call was the beach to watch a spectacular sunset.
The cottage itself, is extremely cosy and comfortable and contains everything you could possibly need, a fully equipped kitchen, a log burner in the living room and kitchen, very comfortable beds and 2 bathrooms.
The view from the cottage is spectacular with the sea to your right and a mountain range straight ahead.
We visited Achmelvich beach which is about a 15 minute drive down the single track road, absolutely stunning white sand and turquoise water.
We also walked to the end of the road, for 15 minutes to visit Stoer Lighthouse and then continued on a walk from 'Walk Highlands' which takes you to the 'Old Man of Stoer' (quite boggy in places) and then to a small hill close by which gave amazing views of snow covered mountains.
We enjoyed it so much we have already booked to return later this year.
Remember to visit the pie shop in Lochinver, it's awesome and also Flossies in Clashmore which has a good selection of essentials.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jckite201...
Bietigheim, Germany
1 review
“Great place - will come again!”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I and another couple have stayed at Meall Dubh for the third time already. The cottage is very well equipped, cozy and warm. The surroundings are nothing less than spectacular with the sea nearby, the grassy hills all around and the mountains in good view. We will be very happy to come again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShariCG
Travelling Scot
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular views at every turn, even from the cosy cottage itself.”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Cosy, well equipped cottage in a truly awesome location. Loved the wood-burning stoves. We loved exploring the area, from the peninsula and beyond. In every direction the views were spectacular and in the evenings we just looked out the large picture windows to admire the mountains at leisure. Loads to see and do and one visit is not enough. An extremely enjoyable and memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, wood-burning stoves.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelfea...
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, cosy well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great little cottage, superb location & views - had all we needed for a wonderful break. Easy walk to the shore, and to the lighthouse at Stoer. View of Canisp, Suilven etc from the kitchen & living room was an unexpected treat too!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena F
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in an unforgettable location”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely perfect cottage, cosy log burners and everything you could possibly need in a holiday home-from-home. We fell in love with Meall Dubh and didn't want to leave. Awesome weather for October - we got sunburn! Who would have thought we should have packed sun cream for a trip in October. Fantastic walks right from the front door with sea views (and on clear days across to the Islands and Lewis) and the mountains on the horizon. Not enough words to describe it. We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sounds like a cliche ... but everything was perfect
Liked least: Doesn't apply
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;