We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
274
14
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
274
14
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dave and caren breakfast was excellent guest house places to visit perfect hosts lovely owners wine glasses great view excellent accommodation bed was comfortable a great place to stay advice bnb deer route
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2020

Stopped in to Lochinver along NC500 route. Immaculate guest house with great view. Cosy and snug room with nice toiletries. Excellent breakfast, super friendly hosts and all round top quality product.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 437jacquelinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave McBain, Owner at Davar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we hope you enoyed the rest of the tour also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2020

If you ever need somewhere to stay in Lochinver make this guest house your first choice and you won’t go wrong Dave and Caren are the perfect hosts especially when you need advice on where to visit and eat comfiest bed ever immaculately clean and a great breakfast to start the day. Thanks very much Dave and Caren for making us feel so welcome.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank H2080RIgordonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave McBain, Owner at Davar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2020

Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Caren and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

Wonderful B&B with lovely owners. We stayed in room 3. It was huge and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and offers local soaps and other items. Whatever you need is in the room, fridge, wine glasses and opener, tea and coffee, blankets, ear buds, etc.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sabrinaschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, Owner at Davar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We always work on the basis that we usually forget something when we go away and make a point of leaving whatever we've forgotten in the room for guests when we get back - hopefully we'll eventually cover most things :-) Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and manage to get a glimpse of the Northern lights before you get too far back South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019

On a Nov trip, with risky who is open excursion, Davar welcomed us and had excellent rooms and service. They gave us restaurant ideas ( again who is open), and in the morning we had deer in meadow just below their place. Breakfast was excellent and meeting and talking to other guests and hosts were very pleasant experiences, sharing stops we needed to make. Thank you Dave and Caren.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 892ralphm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, Owner at Davar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back
Best wishes
Dave and Caren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Dave & Caren made our stay in Lochinver an incredibly comfortable & relaxing couple of days. Their B & B was like an oasis with everything thought of, superbly clean & maintained to the highest standard.
Dave was a fountain of knowledge & mirth, while Caren’s cooked breakfasts were really tasty & satisfying.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this brilliant B&B to anyone travelling in the Lochinver region.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mari14Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, Owner at Davar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we're so pleased you enjoyed my ramblings as well as Caren's breakfasts, though we'd always say a good breakfast is just not burning the great ingredients we get from some amazing local suppliers.
We hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Dave and Caren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews