We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$74
View Deal
BestWestern.com
US$74
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
US$78
US$72
View Deal
SAVE US$6
Hotels.comUS$74
PricelineUS$74
HurbUS$78
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
138
105
39
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
138
105
39
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk room was clean would stay again staff was very friendly laundry facilities road trip handicapped room hotel room sausage great stay check in was easy the breakfast area first floor biscuits waffles complimentary breakfast simon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2020

We stayed at Best Western in Van Buren AR, lights bulb missing in a lamp, wadded tissue in bottom of ice bucket, heater didn't work right, only 2 pillows on king bed, fridge didn't work.... not so good

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank beckycP5874YN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Gopal, General Manager at Best Western Van Buren Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Thank you for your review. Apologies on the issues you had during your stay. Did you report any of these issues to the front desk staff? We could have resolved it immediately. Heater and the fridge (setting was on low) appears to be working fine. Extra pillows are available on request. We have told the inspector to be more diligent when inspecting the rooms. Hope to see you next time. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2020

First of all I wound up at the wrong location which was quickly rectified by Brenda and James. After that I was checked into my room in Van Buren not Fort Smith! As usual the room was clean, spacious, well maintained and well appointed. The location is unbeatable, right off I 40 with many services close by as well as places to eat. While there is a $20. pet fee, all things considered I would not consider that a reason to pass up staying here if the need ever arose. There is a mall right behind the hotel where anything and everything is available including a Super Walmart.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATTSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Gopal, General Manager at Best Western Van Buren Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2020

Thank you for excellent review regarding your recent stay at our property. We are pleased to you liked our hospitality with friendly staff and easy location off Interstate 40 with local shopping places. See you again on your future trips. Thank you once again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary (and our small dog). Yes, it's an older hotel but it's nice. Check-in was easy and the staff was very friendly. The second night we needed a couple of extra towels (only 2 in room) and the lady at the front desk was glad to assist. During these Covid days the breakfast was a grab and go and both mornings the lady was glad to help. A couple of other plus include easy to get to the location, right off the interstate and several close by fast food restaurants. If we come back this way, we know where we plan to stay. I know they would have accommodated but we only had 2 pillows on the king bed. That's not a complaint at all but just letting others know.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 350byrond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Gopal, General Manager at Best Western Van Buren Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at our property. We are pleased to you liked our hospitality with clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff with location off I-40. See you again on your future trips. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

The only real thing I can say negative is that they don’t have an elevator which sucks when you’re carrying heavy suitcases. The room was clean, the bedding was very comfortable. There was plenty of room in the shower, clean towels, and plenty of toiletries. We had a good sized king room. Breakfast was grab and go but we didn’t stop in for it. Staff was friendly.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Gopal, General Manager at Best Western Van Buren Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Thank you for your nice comments - much appreciated. Elevator was not required at the time of this building was built. Did you request a first floor room on check-in? We could have resolved this issue immediately - see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2020

Clean and freindly staff. No notification that breakfast was not available and also NO notifications that the pool was in fact closed. Would have spent less for my hotel room if this would have been posted online.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Floyd-R-R3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Gopal, General Manager at Best Western Van Buren Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2020

Thank you for your comments - our breakfast and pool are closed due to the virus regulations. Notifications are posted on our website. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews