We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay in amazing castle”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Killahara Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Front door
Fireplace
Entrance to the castle
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen window
Bedroom at the top of the castle!
Twin room
Purcells Suite at the top of the castle
Ancient staircase
Kitchen/Dining area
Lady Trants room
Sunset from the top of the castle
Chief Fogarties suite
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Thurles, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jeanpr0uv...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay in amazing castle”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a wonderful time with a group of friends at the Killahara Castle.

Paula was extremely easy to deal with and we felt right at home.

The surrounding area is beautiful and I couldn't recommend staying more highly.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
So glad to hear you all enjoyed it! And thanks so much for leaving such a positive review... Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran-08...
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked Killahara on a recommendation from a friend. We booked it for the Halloween weekend. There was 14 of us in total a mixture of adults and kids. It really was an unforgettable experience. The kids have declared it "The best Halloween Ever". Memories really are created in a place such as this, memories that we will never forget,

We arrived on Friday afternoon. The place was nice and clean. So my surprise in was great to see the fridge contained some of the basic essentials. A really nice touch, made the place feel like home. Straight away we got the fires going and settled in for the weekend. We did all our cooking and eating in the castle. The kitchen is well equipped with to cook for a large party such as ours. It's got a dishwasher which is a nice luxury after cooking for a big crowd. We spent the rest of the evenings there sitting around the stove in the kitchen or upstairs in the sitting room. The views from the top of the castle are amazing. The room at the top of the castle is a real treasure and an amazing place to wake up. I really wished I could of stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of living in a castle
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Great to hear that you all enjoyed it Kieran - and especially that the kids made that comment! We love getting feedback like that. Hopefully it is a weekend they will remember. And yes, the top room is a treat to wake up in - always a fight for that one. Thanks for taking the time to review it, we really appreciate that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika M
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's the perfect experience!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was an amazing stay, and really, the perfect experience for your first (or any) trip to Ireland. I felt like we melted in to the landscape and it was seamless - the views were amazing, like out of a storybook. It doesn't matter what time of year you visit, this is absolutely the place your group should stay. The rooms were diverse and comfortable, the living room held all of us (10) easily and it was just right for a night of card games. The kitchen was just right for a bunch of people getting ready in the morning, the table was just right for all of us. Really, really amazing staying in a castle like this - sometimes a little short if you're 6' tall like I am but that's ok, it's totally worth ducking through doors to stay in such a beautiful place.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: More towels would have been nice.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kristine...
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Speechless!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Castle was just as described. Amazing experience. Traveling with a party of nine there were enough comfortable beds for all. Views were breathtaking. It is out of the way but, close to Thurles, Templemore and the Highway. Owner was very accommodating and nice. Couldn't have asked for a better stay or experience for the kids to stay in such a well conserved castle. Would definitely stay there again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are delighted it worked out so well for you. Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique Castle stay experience with friends”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

When organising a gathering of friends and extended family (some from abroad) we felt the occasion warranted something special and so Kilahara castle seemed very appropriate.

The castle and our stay there did not disappoint.

We received a very friendly welcome soon after our arrival and were delighted at the very thoughtful touch of some essentials and treats being provided for our arrival.
We were all struck by the real sense of history, stories and character behind this ancient castle.

After the thrill of exploring our way around the castle we were easily able to settle in and enjoy the comfort and seclusion provided by this beautiful place.
From taking in the stunning views from the very top of the castle to chatting and playing cards by the large fireplace late into the night.

It was unlike any other break any of us have had and one that will long and very fondly in the memory.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and sense of history behind the castle
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Lovely review and thanks for taking the time to write it. Very glad that you all enjoyed it so much. Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$938
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing