We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
US$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/27
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$121
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
10
13
7
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
13
7
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The owner was superb. Parking was the only down side but he was great and moved vehicles as required. Room was spacious, clean airy and had all u needed. For UK travellers the travel plugs are not the best fit in the rooms.
Breakfast was brilliant and as much as u wanted to eat
Evening meal was very tasty, staff attentive and very pleasant

Room tip: All seemed to be much the same
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. It was easy enough to drive to. The location is on the canal in the small, atmospheric village of Malchow. It's location is also one of its weak points, as the noise from the road is intrusive. During hot summer months it would be very difficult to sleep with an open window. This is mainly because the hotel is right on the street, and the old road paving amplifies the traffic noise considerably which is more noticeable through the night. Otherwise, our room was a good size and comfortable. The outdoor restaurant/ bar had a great location. The breakfast was varied and tasty, with many choices of cold meats, cheese etc. The eggs were cooked much better than what we have come to expect, and they also made fresh pots of tea with real tea leaves - a rarity. We didn't eat an evening meal in the hotel restaurant, so can't comment on that. The manager was very helpful, even walking with us up to the canoe shop to help us hire some. There was little English spoken in this part of Germany (the tourist info shop had only 1 brochure in English!), so his assistance was appreciated. The hotel was close to attractions around the extensive lake system, and there were several boat tour companies close to the hotel.

Room tip: Away from the road if noise bothers you.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at Der Insulaner for just one night, on our way down the A19 towards Bavaria. Traveling by car it was easily reached within a few minutes from the autobahn. Free parking was offered on site. The hotel was located at a cosy spot in the old town, just across the swing bridge. Apart from the hotels own restaurant, there were several other restaurants located just a few feet away.

The room was large, bright and clean. A minibar would have been appreciated, but otherwise the room contained the basic necessities. The Wi-Fi worked very well for standard web browsing. Our room had a nice view facing the bridge and the street. As it was a hot summer night we had to sleep with the windows open. That was a rather noisy experience in the morning, due to the cars driving on the cobbled street. If you are sensitive to noise I would suggest choosing a room facing another side.

We had dinner at the summer terrace/square in front of the hotel. The food was ok and the surroundings pleasant. The breakfast was very good and nicely presented.

The service was friendly both in the hotel and the restaurant, although the knowledge of English was a bit limited. All in all I have no problems recommending this hotel, both for a one-night stop over and for a longer stay.

Room tip: If you want to sleep with your window open, you should consider a room not facing the main street.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IWG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews