We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
171
63
20
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
63
20
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river small balcony beautiful location charming hotel small hotel compote before dinner apple juice little gem places to visit warm welcome foie gras beautiful room private island tucked away bread stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

It felt like heaven to arrive at Moulin de Connelles after our 20 hours transatlantic travels. We were greeted by Karine, the proprietress, and she was extremely friendly and helpful. Later in our visit we enjoyed chatting with her.

Our room had an amazing view of the Seine with a small balcony. One evening after a large lunch, we just bought cheese, bread and wine and ate dinner on our balcony, soaking up the view. It also had a lovely soaking tub.

The first night we mustered the energy after our travels to have dinner at the restaurant. Our table had the same fantastic view as our room and the meal was outstanding. Foie gras crème brûlée, guinea fowl with a Camembert cider sauce, scallops and risotto, tarte tatin for dessert. My husband also had some sort of amazing triple chocolate ball dessert.

They serve a full breakfast for 17 Euro, but they will happily serve you a la carte if you wish (order your baked goods the night before though so they can prepare them).

Also be sure to take the rowboat out on the Seine – a very unique experience.

Thank you, Karine. We can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheHistoryChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We stayed for one night in April having stayed here before last August. The warm welcome was wonderful from Karine and her staff who made us and our 2 year old son and dog feel like we were in a luxury home from home.
We had a fabulous dinner altogether and the chef prepared a wonderful dinner for our son to join us, which was a wonderful experience for us all. The food was fabulous, the location sitting over the lake idyllic and the service impeccable
I cannot recommend them highly enough
We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbignold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The location is very picturesque and the evening meal was nice, though not as good as some of the places we visited in the Dordogne. Just wished we could have stayed longer in the area as i'm sure there would have been some nice places to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Stunning location on a sleepy part of the river Seine in the small village of Connelles. We enjoyed cocktails before dinner and had a wonderful candlelit table in the window overlooking the river which was lovely as it was our anniversary. The staff were very friendly and helpful. So glad we found this little gem.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We spent four days here in August, following a wedding elsewhere in Normandy. The hotel is well tucked away and quiet, except for the occasional car and river traffic. The nearest shops are a ten minute drive away. The building and furnishings are a little tired and some paint would be welcome here and there but it is a truly charming hotel in a lovely spot. It is a very small hotel and therefore the staff, who were all kind, polite and welcoming, can provide truly personal service. We ate at the hotel twice and it was a truly gastronomic experience. There is also a bistro a five minute walk away, jointly run with the hotel, if you want something simple for dinner. It is not cheap, either staying or eating here but it is worth it. I would certainly stay here again if I was in the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Happytrailertrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews