We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful adventures

Beautiful maintained and well looked after, pathways make it a lovely walking experience with a... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2020
Simplythebestus
via mobile
Awesome view from the top

Free entrance. You need to go through secured gated road in order to get there. Parking sometimes... read more

Reviewed 5 December 2019
Ritesh_Boochia
,
Montreal, Canada
via mobile
Read all 37 reviews
  
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
23
11
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
11
1
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Having heard of the kinds of views one can get from this vantage point, we set out to discover for ourselves whether those stories were real or maybe just a bit embellished. we drove up from The Northcliff View where we staying. It was a quick 2km drive and we could have walked up had it not been for our 3 year old who came along. There was ample parking for us, though there was noone to look after the cars. The whole place is inside a boom-gated area anyway. Still, the Ecopark is a public space fully accessible to all between sunrise and sunset at no cost. Anyway, as soon as we stepped through the gate on the newly paved footpath we discovered that the stories were in no way embellished, the views are totally worth it and more! FRom the top, we could see Joburg CBD, Sandton, Fourways, TicketPro Dome, Mall of Africa Midrand, Cresta Mall, FNB Stadium to the south and the Magalies Mountain Range to the North West. Best views for days! We went late afternoon and watched the sun set to the west. I'm told sunrise is also a popular time, and I can believe it.
Please note:
Public space, you dont pay entrance.
Parking available but can get crowded as we discovered when we left - the sunset watchers were coming in.
Nice paved path to walk on, no hiking really, your normal shoes or slops are fine!
Bring a camera. Preferably your best one. If it's not good, borrow one from your sensible friend who invested in a good camera.
You wont regret it.

Date of experience: December 2018
4  Thank WillMoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Took a lazy drive to the tower. What splendid views. Neat surrounding, felt very safe, ideal picnic spot.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank PrezReagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful and safe. Tonight there must have been 30 people in little groups or singles. Women by themselves. Well lit with a view all the way to The Cradle of Humankind. Wheel chair access. Wow. Well done Rotary Club of Northcliff.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Vacation92662
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Couples and friends come here good sunset views,especially on clear day you can see quite far into horizon

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Flitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Used to frequent it as a great rock climbing place, but more recently been there to enjoy the beautiful views and the romantic vibe.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank DJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews