We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Setting, Amazing Service and so Welcome”
Review of Fusionista

Fusionista
Ranked #6 of 131 Restaurants in Randburg
Price range: US$39 - US$185
Description: Our Restaurant Our menu is a combination of Eastern Cuisine from various countries including Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Japan, China, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and the Philippines. We serve you the flavours of the East with a slight fusion twist. Perfectly blended flavours and natural ingredients combine subtlety, creating dishes with unique taste sensations that linger on the palette. Whilst you wait for your meal spoil yourself with a little treat - order a head, neck and back massage at your table, subject to availability of our masseuses. Simply ask our staff about your free table massage. Please feel free to tip the masseuse.
Restaurant details
Description: Our Restaurant Our menu is a combination of Eastern Cuisine from various countries including Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Japan, China, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and the Philippines. We serve you the flavours of the East with a slight fusion twist. Perfectly blended flavours and natural ingredients combine subtlety, creating dishes with unique taste sensations that linger on the palette. Whilst you wait for your meal spoil yourself with a little treat - order a head, neck and back massage at your table, subject to availability of our masseuses. Simply ask our staff about your free table massage. Please feel free to tip the masseuse.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Setting, Amazing Service and so Welcome”
Reviewed 2 February 2017

An overall experience, with superb atmosphere, divine tasty food, excellent value for money and a complimentary neck and head massage that was fantastic. Well done on the décor and making your patrons feel at home, this dining experience is a must.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwen1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Thanks a million Bronwen for the fantastic review.We hope to see you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD TASTY EASTERN DISHES SERVED WITH A SMILE WHILST HAVING A COMPLIMENTARY MASSAGE A REAL TREAT!”
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Good tasty food as well as good, friendly service I received at the restaurant. Not only impressed with the 'complimentary massage' I received at the restaurant but also the variety of eastern and meat dishes on the well organised menu. Love the restaurant decor and the beautifull aquarium at the table. With my next visit I will definately book at 'Fusionista Spa' as well!! "Why go to Thailand to taste eastern dishes when you can conveniently enjoy eastern food in Randburg CBD?"

  • Visited December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 170marlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review, 11 December 2016

Thank you very much Marlene. We do try to create a relaxed eastern ambiance. Enjoying a massage at our spa and then taking a short stroll to our restaurant for a delicious meal is an amazing experience which we are sure you will love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“WOW what and AMAZING atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I took the wife there yesterday for our 11 year anniversary. i dropped of flowers at lunch time so that they can make the table special for use. to my shock when we arrived, the table looked Amazing:-) Thank you Johan and team. the food was one of the best sushi i have had in a while. very well priced and very good service. thank you Fusionista for a lovely evening. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review, 27 October 2016
Thank you very much Brandon. We have worked passionately to create something special at Fusionista and are extremely pleased that you chose to spend your special day with us and that we could help to make it a memorable occasion for you and your wife:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Massage & Dinner combined”
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Big improvement on the old Kai Thai restaurant, The Decors is done nicely, The food is excellent , Big Variety of Cuisines, I already went back 3 times during the last few weeks and it seems just to get better every time.
Very good cocktails.

  • Visited October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alwyn1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
Much appreciated Alwyn. We worked hard on crafting a menu that spoils people for choice, not only with the great variety of dishes but also with the creation of certain dishes that you will only find at Fusionista. We are very happy to hear that each time you come back it gets better.
We also have some unique cocktails to keep things interesting.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not quite getting it right ”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Had lunch yesterday at Fuscionista. The menu is extensive with offerings from Japan, Thailand, Vietnam, Philippines, and other Asian countries ...maybe a tad too ambitious. Decor and ambience is pleasant. The waiter was sweet but clueless: didn't know the menu, struggled getting basic drinks orders right. We had Rainbow roll sushi, which was good, crispy duck in oyster sauce which tasted great but the duck was slightly over cooked (it's a huge challenge with duck to get the skin crispy and the flesh not overdone) and sticky pork ribs. Strangely the ribs arrived 5 minutes after the rest but cold. My dad said they tasted good, but that night he had gastro which is worrisome. Saturday lunch and only 4 tables, so it seems they are not quite getting it right, and won't survive if they carry on like this. Pity, because it's a lovely venue and some interesting food options, so I'm hoping they can adapt and focus.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this review, 11 October 2016
Thank you Graeme for your constructive review.
We had to employ replace 2 waiters and due to the size of our menu it does take time to train new waiters to become au fait with all the items on the menu. We will also be implementing a Silver Star training course for our waiters next month.
Glad you enjoyed the Rainbow roll sushi. We have made a huge effort to create top of the range sushi dishes.
Also happy to hear that the crispy duck in oyster sauce tasted great. You are 100% correct when you state that it's a huge challenge to get the skin crispy and the flesh not overdone, which is something we always try to achieve with our crispy duck. I have instructed the kitchen staff to ensure that the ribs arrive on time and at the proper temperature. I'm glad nevertheless that your dad still says that the ribs tasted good. We had many ribs ordered on that day and everyone was happy, so there was no problem with the quality of the ribs.
In fact we have one couple who comes back every week especially for the ribs.
We do have some quiet days, especially when there is a big rugby game on. We are gradually establishing ourselves and the people who do try Fusionista for the first time are positive with many of them returning as loyal customers, and so we are seeing a steady improvement in the numbers.
We hope to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fusionista also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fusionista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing