We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massage & Dinner combined”
Review of Fusionista

Fusionista
Ranked #11 of 166 Restaurants in Randburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$185
Description: If you are looking for something very different but still very special Fusionista is for you! Our menu is a combination of Eastern Cuisine from various countries including Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Japan, China, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and the Philippines. Savour the flavours of the East served with a slight fusion twist whilst you chill out in an exotic ambiance. Perfectly blended flavours and natural ingredients combine subtly, creating dishes with unique taste sensations that linger on the palette. From delectable sushi to mouth-watering Asian steaks to our Vegetarian menu to our amazing array of starters, soups and salads we truly spoil you for choice. Try our 9-course Taste Bud Tour of the East for an unforgettable culinary experience. Round off your meal with one of our decadent desserts including unique offerings such as our 12 flavoured soccer ball sorbet: - And cap it all off with one of our awesome cocktails including the one of a kind Fusionista Flaming Ferrari.
Restaurant details
Description: If you are looking for something very different but still very special Fusionista is for you! Our menu is a combination of Eastern Cuisine from various countries including Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Japan, China, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and the Philippines. Savour the flavours of the East served with a slight fusion twist whilst you chill out in an exotic ambiance. Perfectly blended flavours and natural ingredients combine subtly, creating dishes with unique taste sensations that linger on the palette. From delectable sushi to mouth-watering Asian steaks to our Vegetarian menu to our amazing array of starters, soups and salads we truly spoil you for choice. Try our 9-course Taste Bud Tour of the East for an unforgettable culinary experience. Round off your meal with one of our decadent desserts including unique offerings such as our 12 flavoured soccer ball sorbet: - And cap it all off with one of our awesome cocktails including the one of a kind Fusionista Flaming Ferrari.
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Big improvement on the old Kai Thai restaurant, The Decors is done nicely, The food is excellent , Big Variety of Cuisines, I already went back 3 times during the last few weeks and it seems just to get better every time.
Very good cocktails.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alwyn1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Much appreciated Alwyn. We worked hard on crafting a menu that spoils people for choice, not only with the great variety of dishes but also with the creation of certain dishes that you will only find at Fusionista. We are very happy to hear that each time you come back it gets better.
We also have some unique cocktails to keep things interesting.
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Had lunch yesterday at Fuscionista. The menu is extensive with offerings from Japan, Thailand, Vietnam, Philippines, and other Asian countries ...maybe a tad too ambitious. Decor and ambience is pleasant. The waiter was sweet but clueless: didn't know the menu, struggled getting basic drinks orders right. We had Rainbow roll sushi, which was good, crispy duck in oyster sauce which tasted great but the duck was slightly over cooked (it's a huge challenge with duck to get the skin crispy and the flesh not overdone) and sticky pork ribs. Strangely the ribs arrived 5 minutes after the rest but cold. My dad said they tasted good, but that night he had gastro which is worrisome. Saturday lunch and only 4 tables, so it seems they are not quite getting it right, and won't survive if they carry on like this. Pity, because it's a lovely venue and some interesting food options, so I'm hoping they can adapt and focus.

Thank GraemeS678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you Graeme for your constructive review.
We had to employ replace 2 waiters and due to the size of our menu it does take time to train new waiters to become au fait with all the items on the menu. We will also be implementing a Silver Star training course for our waiters next month.
Glad you enjoyed the Rainbow roll sushi. We have made a huge effort to create top of the range sushi dishes.
Also happy to hear that the crispy duck in oyster sauce tasted great. You are 100% correct when you state that it's a huge challenge to get the skin crispy and the flesh not overdone, which is something we always try to achieve with our crispy duck. I have instructed the kitchen staff to ensure that the ribs arrive on time and at the proper temperature. I'm glad nevertheless that your dad still says that the ribs tasted good. We had many ribs ordered on that day and everyone was happy, so there was no problem with the quality of the ribs.
In fact we have one couple who comes back every week especially for the ribs.
We do have some quiet days, especially when there is a big rugby game on. We are gradually establishing ourselves and the people who do try Fusionista for the first time are positive with many of them returning as loyal customers, and so we are seeing a steady improvement in the numbers.
We hope to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Wow what an amazing time. Dinner was fantastic so too was the service. Venue is different very cosy. Can't wait to go back. Next time I will have a massage.

Thank Julian1973P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

That's great to hear Julian. Combining the meal and the massage makes the experience more enjoyable for customers, which is what we are striving for. We hope to host you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

The layout and decor is superb, relaxing and spacious.

The menu is huge and has a large variety of Chinese, Japanese and other Asian food, with a few items that you don't find at other places.

The prices are not bad and justified by the food quality, service and venue.

1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Thanks so much Kevin. We spent a lot of time and effort on the decor in order to create the right ambiance.
We like to spoil people with choice as well as providing something different, so we created a large diverse menu. Hope you come back to try some of our other delicious dishes!:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We first had a couples massage. I had the authentic Thai massage and my partner had the Thai dumpling massage. Both were amazing. We then went to the restaurant, which is part of the premises. The restaurant has many unique and interesting sushi dishes , so I tried the sushi which surpassed my expectations. My partner tried one of the Filipino dishes which was great. We shared the soccerball sorbet for dessert with its 12 home-made flavours. What an incredible desert. This place is a must.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank carmensI2356QT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

We are so glad you were able to enjoy both our Spa/Beauty Salon and Restaurant treating yourself to a true Fusionista experience. We have worked hard to offer a great variety of interesting and unique dishes and we are pleased that you tried some of them. We hope to see you soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fusionista also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fusionista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing