We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch date”
Review of Colonial Restaurant - CLOSED

Colonial Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant /chillie tasting Hekpoort Heksie isnfamous for her chillie , many people Know her product and now you eventually know where to come and Taste it and purchase it. We are proud of what we have achieved and offer and invite you to come and enjoy a day at our farm .
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The new venue is so lovely and the food was great as usual. Definitely worth the trip. Great family place with a great view

Thank mpilo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hekpoortheksie, Owner at Colonial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

So glad you had a really good time , we always try our best

Thanks katy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

As the key competitor of Black Horse, we expected a good atmosphere, upmarket venue, exceptional service and excellent food. And we got nothing like it at all. There is no menu, the decor is tattered and the prices inflated.

Thank burgerdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hekpoortheksie, Owner at Colonial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hello we don’t see ourselves as a competitor to black horse , we don’t have the funds to establish ourselves like them , we are a very basic little restaurant where one should not have high expectations. Our furniture is unfortunately all we have and can’t afford more for now , we are not a very big establishment and find it hard to find good staff on busy days. We do our best and luckily our food and vieuw makes up for everything . Sorry youbare comparing is to others , but we are not ...we are only trying to keep a hobby alive and do something to the business each and everyday.
Unfortunately we can not make everyone happy , but we certainly try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Great food and vibe ....good fot family or romantic date
even bring the dogs !
a place to linger longer with good wine good music food and friends!

Thank apie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hekpoortheksie, Owner at Colonial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you so much !!
We are very doggie friendly
Offer river and forest and lots of open space .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

colonial restaurant moved to hekpoort only ten minutes up the road.much nicer premises and they go under the name heksies hideaway,best food and great vieuw and good service and excellent products, definitly worth the day. casual veranda atmosphere.

1  Thank gveryard257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hekpoortheksie, Owner at Colonial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Yes we are very happy with our new premises !
And love our little Casual farm restaurant !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The Colonial has moved to a new spot a little further down the road just outside of Magaliesberg on the R96, the new venue and space is better suited for what they do, it has a more intimate feel and is away from that main entry road into town a very pleasant experience!

1  Thank Naphon712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colonial Restaurant also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing