We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service with a nice outlook over the hills”
Review of Colonial Restaurant - CLOSED

Colonial Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant /chillie tasting Hekpoort Heksie isnfamous for her chillie , many people Know her product and now you eventually know where to come and Taste it and purchase it. We are proud of what we have achieved and offer and invite you to come and enjoy a day at our farm .
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Our waiter was very friendly and helpful, and VERY concerned whether we enjoyed our meals. She was worried when a meal wasn't finished as it might be horrible.

The food service was slow. There seemed to be only two people serving the 3-4 tables. Our meals only came out when the other tables left. They don't seem to have capacity to serve tables simultaneously. The kitchen, which you walk through on the way to the restrooms is very disorganised.

Starters of chicken livers (limited to 2 portions) and salad for 3 were good, although the chicken livers could have been a bit more spicy, but they were tasty. We are used to getting livers with toast, which had to be requested, as they are not served in this way at the Colonial.

The food, when it came, was tasty - Thai fish curry was good (I didn't taste it), the chicken curry, which I tasted, was ok, but I really enjoyed my beef curry.

Presentation was good, with the heated bowls.

The alcohol choice was limited, apparently due to a theft in the week. We were not advised of this when we phoned to book, which I felt we should have been. Thankfully we got a fine bottle of dry white wine.

The coffee was not filter coffee (I did not verify this, but it tasted like powder coffee) which was disappointing.

In the final analysis, the meals were average. Due to the serving constraints, the afternoon at the table was long, but enjoyable.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidlR2225IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017

We took the steam train to Magaliesburg and booked Father's Day Lunch here. On offer was a three course meal, and you could choose a starter and main from 5 choices. We were a group of 8 people and our starters ranged from chicken livers, honey chicken wings and Chinese dumplings. The Chinese dumplings were a medley of flour and chicken that were fried, they were raw and still had raw flour paste inside of them. The livers looked and tasted horrible, and we did not eat them. The Chicken Wings were not crispy, and there is nothing worse than limp chicken skin, with a few feathers still on ! We loved the rusticness of the place, and even our rickety table didn't deter us from looking forward to a lovely meal. My chair was one gust of wind short of falling apart. We were seated next to a dirty green pond which would have made a beautiful feature had it been clean. We ordered our mains, rump steak (medium rare), chicken curry and hamburgers. The rump steak, a very thin piece of meat arrived well done with a few oily chips on the side, The steak was sent back, and 20 minutes later it arrived well done again. The steak went back with chips, but came back without chips. The hamburger patties were still raw and ice cold in the centre. These were also sent back, my son had to send his burger back twice before he could actually eat it. The burgers looked like something a three year old had put together. Slap dash thrown on a plate with no care at all. We all ate our meals at different times, and the waitress spent most of the time apologizing and shaking her head at the food. Their website advertised hot soups and warm puddings. The pudding of the day was a slice of dry chocolate cake that looked like it came from Spar or Pick n Pay. We were not offered any soup by the waitress who announced the starters off of a piece of paper in her hand. I can honestly say that this is one of the worst meals I have ever had. As I sat down to write this review I asked everyone how they would describe the experience, and sadly everyone said it was disgusting. We are not a family of fussy diners, but exceptionally bad food is really off-putting. We left thoroughly disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

What a fabolously rustic venue. Beautiful views. Excellent food. Owners very involved. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 0000dam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Loved the signature Thai fish curry. Like having dinner on a friends stoep. Needs a little cosmetic touching up (signage etc) to achieve potential (especially as you arrive or may not know it's there) but very personal spot. Call in advance to check what is on menu as is relatively limited

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ColinMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Do to a very busy weekend, the restaurant was low on stock so we only had a couple of choices with reg to food. Food was average.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 574bri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colonial Restaurant also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing