We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NaasvanZyl

Venue and facilities spoiled by dismal and overpriced food

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Mar 2024
Our room was excellent, beautifully decorated with all the facilities one could think of.

However, the food was abysmal, the Dinner buffet was R395 per head, it consisted of cold food with a very small variety, definitely not worth the price we were expected to pay. The Breakfast buffet was served cold and when I asked for French toast, I was told that it doesn't form part of the buffet and that I would have to pay extra! The Spa closed at 17:00 on Saturday evening and we were told that we didn't make a booking, so they were leaving.
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 1 830
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.2 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottage 6 Nebulous with outdoor shower
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.8 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
8.7 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
8.2 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.3 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
17.3 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Heated Pool & Deck
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 290
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free parking
Pool
You are welcome to bring your well socialised animal family along
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
17.5 km from Valley Lodge & Spa
Free parking
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
223
125
64
39
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
223
125
64
39
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful surroundings weekend johannesburg conference waiters setting jacuzzi escape scenery animals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2023

PRO's:
- Beautiful and convenient location,
- friendly staff,
- lovely rooms
- a great spa.

MINOR CON:
- Restaurant service not always great, sometimes with very long wait times, and few veggie options.

Overall, I'll be back here.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wikus Breytenbach, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Thank you for the constructive feedback, Christopher C. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Valley Lodge & Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2023

After working very hard, this was the resting place that the doctor prescribed for me. The Zebras kind of made the whole stay memorable. I will come back to finish off the relaxation from where I left out

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ereck2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wikus Breytenbach, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Thank you for the lovely feedback ereck2023 and looking forward in welcoming you back at Valley Lodge & Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

Stunning old school hotel and rooms in a beautiful natural landscape. The place needs a bit of TLC though and barking dogs kept me up all night. The food was excellent, the coffee not so good. Walk along the river and experience the zebra's in the morning!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrantGreyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2023

The place is beautiful, the beds are quality and the service was fantastic. The pool are is quite nice and the view from the river is quite beautiful.

I have been wanting to visit magaliesburg and I now have more reason to go on vacation more in magalies.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mmbonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2023

Simply beautiful and extraordinary. The rooms are awesome, the service good and the zebras that often visit us beautiful. There is a small nature reserve for lovely walks, lots of birds and a river to relax by. amazing place.

Room tip: Make sure you take the tar road and not the gravel road. We nearly did not make it through the last part of the road.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews