We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
209
117
61
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
117
61
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double shower world class walking trails weekend masseuse venue johannesburg luxury maintenance anniversary country jacuzzi lawns escape winter monkeys breakaway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2021

The ultimate breakaway to regain one's energy, the spa is a "must visit"! We stayed in a chalet/room next to the river, sat on our veranda every afternoon watching the zebras pass by about 5 meters from where we were sitting, such a tranquil setting... most enjoyable!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charmaine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wikus Breytenbach, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Thank you Charmaine33 for the lovely feedback.

Hope to see you back soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

this place is stone through from Johannesburg. Good roads leading to it. Well looked after facilities. The staff was so happy to see visitors. Very large swimming pool with kids pool next to it. Zebras, monkeys ( a few) are wondering around property. Number of hiking trials available to explore. Rooms are specious enough. Some, like ours have covered patio with tables and chairs. You do not hear neighbours.
We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you!!!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank evgenir2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2020

Valley Lodge and Spa is spacious and well maintained.

Nice relaxing indoor and outdoor lounge and dining areas. Beautiful pool and spa area.

Plenty of adventurous outdoor activities and facilities. The room was comfortable and had great views.

The service was excellent and the cuisine was absolutely superb.

Thank you to Alpheus for ensuring that we were well taken care of.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Nalsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2020

Service: World class. We were really well looked after. My boyfriend (now fiance) had asked for rose petals (something I highly suggest you ask for if you want to surprise your partner - it is also apparently very affordable) to be laid out on the bed and wow did they go over and above. There were rose petals all over the room, a bottle of champagne in the bathroom, and the bath was filled with hot water (when we got there), bubble bath, and of course, rose petals. Not only this, but they served us drinks/cocktails near the pool and were always more than willing to help. Well done to Wikkus, Alphi and the team for achieving that personal touch that is hard to come by.

Rooms: Beautiful. The bed was truly luxurious and the room spacious to say the least. Maybe it would've been better if the TV was more aligned with the bed, although it's but a small blimp on the radar when considering the whole package. I suppose there are also a bunch of chairs to watch from so it is actually just personal preference. The bathroom had a double shower, a beautiful built in bath, double vanity, and large mirrors which is always nice.

Location: walking in almost seems like an oasis with the green grass/trees, sky-blue pool and, of course, the zebras that roam around on the grass by the pool (seems to be a daily thing at around 11:00 and 15:00).

Favourite parts: the spa area is well worth a visit. Great massages aside, the facilities linked to them are 2nd to none with a refreshing pool and a jacuzzi right at the end of it. We highly suggest going to spa an hour early to enjoy the facilities. We also recommend trying the flavoured tea which are linked to different moods.

All-in-all, by far the most romantic weekend either of us have experienced to date.

Room tip: Room 37: about 10m away from the river, secluded, and within a short (about 60 m) walk of the dining pool area. Would suggest it.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank melaniegD8810VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wikus Breytenbach, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Melanie G (Mrs. & Mr. soon to be off course)

Looking forward in having you back at Valley Lodge & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020

My husband booked a picnic with you for Saturday the 21st March – as we were going to stop for the picnic on our way to our holiday, he specifically requested that he be accommodated at 10h30.

Our picnic basket was only made available to us at 11h40 – our first disappointment which necessitated alternate plans be made for our ongoing travel arrangements.

Our picnic basket was presented to us and was not at all what was promised or paid for!

Items which were on the menu but were missing from our basket with NO explanation:

1) Roasted Baby Chicken – instead we were given two “out of the box” plastic cordon bleu’s ice cold with all the cheese in the middle missing
2) Pepper Steak Pie
3) Panini with Parma Ham, mustard, lettuce. Emmenthaler Cheese and red onion
4) Greek Salad with corn, nuts & seeds
5) No whole grain mustard with the cold meat selection
6) 3 – yes only THREE crackers with the cheese collection
7) Peppadew & Cheese Rissoles
8) Apple, Orange, Mint & Strawberry Spritzer
9) Chocolate Truffles
10) Cupcakes
11) Chocolate dipped Strawberries

Given that this was the menu we chose and paid for, it is unacceptable that so many items were not in the basket.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Service
Thank girlgreek101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wikus Breytenbach, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2020

Good day girlgreek101,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you and your husband had with the picnic on the 21st of March.
.
I assure you that this is not the norm and I would like you to allow us to show you we can do better.

I hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and make up for the previous lunch.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews