We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Refilwe K

Disappointing 😞

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
My experience at Mount Grace was very disappointing. Just to give a background. During check in the staff was welcoming, professional and friendly. As soon as I had checked in things turned for the worst. I had booked a surprise vacation with hubby.

The room I was allocated from entry it was disappointing, the mat had stains from the door step, the room was old staff (aircon could only heat 1m away from it, with a disturbing sound; the mini fridged as advertised was hot no sign of coldness; electric blanket controller not functioning). Called reception several times to report these, spoke to Jacob, Ondela and others yet no one came until we requested to speak to a manager an hour later, they refused to give the manager then finally sent maintenance people. They told ua the fridges are coolers but not fridges (why falsely advertise?) and they said they cant do anything about the aircon that is one of the old rooms. The fridge was changed but for the entire 2 days drinks were still warm inside the fridge.

We went for lunch at the restaurant and we were chased out by a lady waiter to go sit outside in the cold when they allowed 2 white families to sit there for their lunch. We were rescued by a guy waiter after telling him of how we were ill treated. He went inside to check where he can place us, true to his word he came and took us to the spa lounge where it was a bit warmer however quiet busy. He introduced Ofentse to us a waiter, we ordered and the food was horrible (chicken wings were off and even tasteless) could only take one bite. Tried to eat because we were paying.R600 went to waste Informed Ofentse of our dissatisfaction.
Later we ordered room service and this was the worst food ever, the so called strawberry cheesecake was like an instant pudding which was waiting for some1 just to get rid of, without taste. Couldnt stomach this. Another R450 to waste.

We had to sleep with the aircon on cz it couldnt even warm the room in that cold night, with those squeaky sounds the entire night. After paying so much.

Our second day we couldnt even go for breakfast because of the exday experience with food there. We were hungry and didnt want to take further chances.

Later that day we took a walk and ended up by the restaurant, we were assisted by the lady Shoki, we were just passing by not planning to eat however her friendliness, patience and persistence she managed to convince us to give the food a try for supper, probably after a 30min debate. She actually saved the trip cause we couldnt wait to check out.
We poured our heart out to heart about our bad experience. Dinner was edible and nice.

We passed by reception and requested a manager, again a supervisor said she will help but we only wanted to compliment the service we received from Shoki. We even told them of our dissatisfactions, only then we were offered an extra blanket and ice by a friendly and professional Paul.

Our overalll experience was bad. There is no consistency with staff others will greet you others will not. Its like you are in different vacinities.The ubers would sometimes take long that we ended up opting to walk for our sanity sake.

The cleaning staff did not refill the teabags we used. 1 towel was not changed.

What I saw when I opted to book was not what I got, the furniture is old. The ambience was not there. If thas their standard they should consider a lower rating it doesnt deserve a 5 star at all. The price doesnt correspond with what you get. Imagine leaving your house to go and be experience a stained mat all over the room (entry hall, closet and the actual room).

Big up to Shoki and Paul that I rated a 2. Otherwise I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone.

We are in smart eras I recommend you change your tvs to smart ones.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Ask for a clean modern room
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nangomoso Tate, Owner at Mount Grace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good Day Refilwe,

I sincerely apologize for the bad experience at our hotel, I can assure you this is not the standard we pride ourselves off. I will do a thorough investigation on the issues mentioned above, ensure that the departments are informed & action taken so that this will not be repeated for any other guest.

Kind Regards

Tate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 683
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 110
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 074
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 630
4.6 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Block 1-7
R 2 376
  • Priceline
    R 2 376
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 376
  • eDreams
    R 2 376
1.8 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 4 000
  • Priceline
    R 4 000
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 000
3.3 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 250
  • Priceline
    R 2 250
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 250
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 250
2.5 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 190
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 190
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
2.0 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 1 330
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 330
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 267
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 267
5.8 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Pool
R 1 412
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 370
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 201
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 373
15.8 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Pool
Thaba Manzi Ranch
R 600
    15.0 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
    Free parking
    Pool
    Riverdance
    R 533
      9.1 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
      Free parking
      Pool
      Earn Trip Coins after your stay
      • Priceline
      • Booking.com
      • eDreams
      8.8 km from Mount Grace Hotel & Spa
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in Magaliesburg
      Reviews (134)
      Filter reviews
      134 results
      Traveller rating
      71
      23
      13
      13
      14
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      71
      23
      13
      13
      14
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews heated pool rambling vine room service staff at reception facilities are great breakfast buffet restaurant staff spent two nights an amazing experience his team treated like royalty birthday weekend thank you so much excellent stay wonderful weekend long weekend home away from home
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      3 - 8 of 134 reviews
      Reviewed 29 May 2024

      After a bit of a mix up around our booking, everything was great. Room was clean, large and comfortable, with little extra's like upholstered footstools under the two comfortable reading chairs. Bed was very comfortable, with large soft pillows. Bathroom was large and spotlessly clean, had complimentary toiletries, and everything worked. Pleasant surprise to find a coffee capsule machine in the room. Food at both dinner and breakfast was superb. Cannot understand all the poor reviews. Will definitely pay a return visit.

      Date of stay: May 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Trip62993496585
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nangomoso Tate, Owner at Mount Grace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

      Good Day,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services, hope to see you again soon.

      Kind Regards

      Nangomso Tate

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 May 2024

      Exceptionally Professional service by one of the reception consultant Quilind K.

      I took this retreat on my 53th birthday and he made it pleasant and enjoyable. He was always of assistance.

      I enjoyed the spa treatment by Sonto, the technician.

      The two ladies at the Spa reception weldomed me well, with friendliness professionalism

      Dinner on my birthday and breakfast as great.

      Date of stay: May 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank TMoyo49
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nangomoso Tate, Owner at Mount Grace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

      Good Day TMoyo49,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services, hope to see you again soon.

      Kind Regards

      Nangomso Tate

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 4 March 2024

      The stay was quite pleasant, my lady and I enjoyed ourselves very much. The staff was warm, friendly and attentive. The Kart rides to and from the rooms are a very nice touch since the property is so massive. The food was good, particularly the breakfast buffet. A bit more work could be done with the dinner buffet though but overall the entire stay was perfect, I will definitely be visiting again soon!

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Lungelo C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nangomoso Tate, Owner at Mount Grace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

      Good Day LungeloC,

      Thank you so much for taking time to review our services, we cannot wait to host you again.

      Kind Regards

      Nangomso Tate

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

      Great hosting and reception by Ondela. She is great at what she does and went extra mile to make us feel welcomed. The facilities are worth their price, the mountainous views and the pool is great.

      Did the spa treatment at the facility, and really enjoyed it as well

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Prince M
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nangomoso Tate, Owner at Mount Grace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

      Good Day Prince,

      Thank you so much for your review, it is with great admiration to learn that Ondela created exceptional experiences during the time you stayed at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

      Kind Regards

      Nangomso Tate

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 February 2024

      Excellent service at every level. Waiters and food were great. Porters, reception, everybody very friendly and they go out of their way to help.
      Food is well prepared and so very tasty. I'll be back again. It's a wonderful place, great experience

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Dreamer19470324719
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Nangomoso Tate, Owner at Mount Grace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

      Good Day Dreamer,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services & it is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

      Hoping to see you again soon.

      Kind Regards

      Nangomso Tate

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews