We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lynette Finlay

Magaliesburg top restaurant disappointing

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 May 2022via mobile
The service was very bad . The food was a set menu and very average for the price charged. The setting is stunning and a pity that the Magaliesburg top restaurant fell way short. The wine and champagne is priced way above the average 100% mark up.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.0 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.6 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.5 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Cottage 6 Nebulous with outdoor shower
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.2 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
8.7 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
12.7 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Block 1-7
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
5.0 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
You are welcome to bring your well socialised animal family along
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
14.2 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Fitness centre
Loerie Bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
11.4 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
550
152
49
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
550
152
49
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail rooms are beautiful fine dining beautiful place spa treatments venue setting anniversary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2022

We held our family meeting and luncheon at Dehoek. I didn't sleep over this time but some of my family members did.
We were received by a friendly staff member and didn't struggle to find our meeting venue as we were ushered. What honestly surprised me is that I expected just a room with tea/coffee for our meeting but was met with a professional conference-style presentation including AV/PA system, even name tags. The lunch afterwards was delicious but the vibe from the bistro...my words can't do justice. I'm in love with this place. I've slept there only once before but it definitely wasn't the last time.
I really like how friendly the staff are. Everyone greets with a smile and not only the ones attending to you. It felt cosy and homely somewhat.

5 stars from me.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vista_Lovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

De Hoek is an absolutely amazing establishment from the facilities, to the staff and the absolute delicious fine dining meals. We truly had a wonderful experience. After dinner we were suprised with flower petals and candles in the bathroom.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sekao G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Understaffed. Only one staff member trying to cope. Bar, but no bar service. No coverage of SA vs ARG rugby game. 6 channels of soccer. When you dial reception no answer. Not value for money. Will not come back. Lets us see what dinner will be like...maybe due to covid, but no excuse

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CoetzerSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2021

I have stayed at De Hoek twice before for conferences and it was great. But this family trip was an atrocious experience. Of particular note was the dreadful restaurant experience for the price charged - they have previously been awarded for Fine Dining, but the Fine has disappeared. The service would have been remarkable except there wasn't any (but for a very pleasant lady in the breakfast room who seemed way more interested than the rest). Management nowhere to be seen.

Rooms have clearly not been maintained to the standards suggested by the 5-star rating and 5-star room rate.

Big disappointment. Highly unlikely to return or recommend.

Room tip: Find another hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fugax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2021

We have been to De Hoek many times, and this was as good as all the previous times. Tranquil setting, away from Gauteng. Staff so friendly, and willing to make your stay even better. Look forward to the next visit

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GregTurck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews