We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ofile

VENUE, VISTA, SERVICE...5 STAR

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2022
We held our family meeting and luncheon at Dehoek. I didn't sleep over this time but some of my family members did.
We were received by a friendly staff member and didn't struggle to find our meeting venue as we were ushered. What honestly surprised me is that I expected just a room with tea/coffee for our meeting but was met with a professional conference-style presentation including AV/PA system, even name tags. The lunch afterwards was delicious but the vibe from the bistro...my words can't do justice. I'm in love with this place. I've slept there only once before but it definitely wasn't the last time.
I really like how friendly the staff are. Everyone greets with a smile and not only the ones attending to you. It felt cosy and homely somewhat.

5 stars from me.
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 250
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 250
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 250
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 250
1.0 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 852
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 221
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 066
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 836
4.0 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 300
R 2 190
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 300
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Heated Pool & Deck
R 2 688
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 665
  • Priceline
    R 2 688
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 665
3.3 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Block 1-7
R 2 376
  • Priceline
    R 2 376
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 376
  • eDreams
    R 2 376
5.0 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 330
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 1 330
  • Booking.com
    R 1 330
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 330
2.5 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 412
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 412
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 174
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 373
12.7 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Thaba Manzi Ranch
R 600
    12.0 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Riverdance
    R 533
      8.2 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
      Free parking
      Pool
      R 638
      Fully refundable
      • Agoda.com
        R 638
      2.0 km from De Hoek Country Hotel
      View more hotels in Magaliesburg
      Reviews (784)
      Filter reviews
      784 results
      Traveller rating
      550
      152
      49
      18
      15
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      550
      152
      49
      18
      15
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews attention to detail rooms are beautiful fine dining beautiful place spa treatments venue setting anniversary
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      9 - 14 of 784 reviews
      Reviewed 13 February 2022 via mobile

      De Hoek is an absolutely amazing establishment from the facilities, to the staff and the absolute delicious fine dining meals. We truly had a wonderful experience. After dinner we were suprised with flower petals and candles in the bathroom.

      Date of stay: February 2022
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Sekao G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

      Understaffed. Only one staff member trying to cope. Bar, but no bar service. No coverage of SA vs ARG rugby game. 6 channels of soccer. When you dial reception no answer. Not value for money. Will not come back. Lets us see what dinner will be like...maybe due to covid, but no excuse

      Date of stay: August 2021
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank CoetzerSonja
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 17 June 2021

      I have stayed at De Hoek twice before for conferences and it was great. But this family trip was an atrocious experience. Of particular note was the dreadful restaurant experience for the price charged - they have previously been awarded for Fine Dining, but the Fine has disappeared. The service would have been remarkable except there wasn't any (but for a very pleasant lady in the breakfast room who seemed way more interested than the rest). Management nowhere to be seen.

      Rooms have clearly not been maintained to the standards suggested by the 5-star rating and 5-star room rate.

      Big disappointment. Highly unlikely to return or recommend.

      Room tip: Find another hotel
      Date of stay: June 2021
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Fugax
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 7 June 2021

      We have been to De Hoek many times, and this was as good as all the previous times. Tranquil setting, away from Gauteng. Staff so friendly, and willing to make your stay even better. Look forward to the next visit

      Date of stay: June 2021
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank GregTurck
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 25 May 2021

      This gem hidden in the Magaliesburg hills is a great spot for a breakaway from the home office. Close enough to get there without a days travel. Don't forget to visit The Black Horse, a craft brewery for fantastic local beer and gin.

      Date of stay: May 2021
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank brianrow2021
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews