We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great campsite under shady indigenous trees”

Mountain Sanctuary Park
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Management does a great job of restricting numbers, so that guests can enjoy the peace and quite in this beautiful setting. There are lovely mountain walks and the paths are clearly marked.
The campsites are large and the ablutions clean and well maintained.
Pity that the invasive alien vegetation is not properly controlled. If uncontrolled the reserve's precious mountain pools and streams will be choked in this water constrained area.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock pools"
in 15 reviews
"natural rock"
in 4 reviews
"log cabin"
in 6 reviews
"clean ablutions"
in 2 reviews
"tuck shop"
in 2 reviews
"a great place to spend"
in 2 reviews
"braai wood"
in 2 reviews
"the reserve"
in 3 reviews
"great campsite"
in 2 reviews
"natural slides"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 2 reviews
"hiking"
in 23 reviews
"trail"
in 14 reviews
"nature"
in 20 reviews
"sites"
in 12 reviews
"rocks"
in 5 reviews
"scenery"
in 5 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

If you want a quiet relaxing experience this is it. The only way to make it more quiet and relaxing is to ban small children (but apparently that's frowned apon). Big stands (not the mist shade) clean, spacious bathrooms with warm water. Will definately come again. I will strongly suggest management spell out the cost as an extra vehicle cost was involved(saw that on the invoice/quote) but was surprised at the extra cost of the caravan after specifically asking. Still worth it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We had such a marvelous weekend! The campsites are spacious and clean, the ablutions are old but they clean! And Everyone was helpful and kind!
With our campsite situated in the mountains, it was relaxing and tranquil, definitely a Sanctuary! We did ALL the hikes and swam everywhere we could :) from potholes to the natural slides to the rock pools! We will definitely be visiting there soon! What a gem!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RaquelS4256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you so much for your comments, exactly what you described is what we are all about. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
kind regards
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Actually went there with the hope of doing a 10km Hike. Well there is no clearly marked routes and we ended up giving up the hike and went for a swim to avoid getting lost. There is a lot that can be done to get this place up to par given it has the most magnificent sights and views and rocks and pools. But for a hiker like me having paid a high price and driven from Johannesburg for over two hours, this felt like a waste of time and money.

I would recommend they start working on marking the hiking routes and it will make this a fantastic place. It is so beautiful and has awesome natural pools worth enjoying. If you there for relaxation its ok. But for hiking. A big No. I enjoyed taking pictures and I would go back if they do proper marked hiking routes.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank ntiyis0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your review.

Firstly the reason we do not have marked hiking trails is purely for conservation reasons. The magaliesburg is a very sensitive area and prone to erosion, the moment you have a marked trail everyone follows it causing a problem. By allowing our guests to explore the whole reserve we reduce impact on the mountain and allow for a more free hiking experience. All our guests are given a hiking map and the "routes" are explained, all you need is a sense of direction.
kind regards
owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed the trails and views.
So close to cities and so wild. The sites for tents are really spacious, and the place has a rustic feel, which I really like.
The sanctuary has lovely trails to the gorges and pools on the river...beautiful rocky scenery, with impressive natural rock sculptures.
Baboons and monkeys are only a problem if you ignore the sensible advice to lock food away. Obvious really.
We had breakfast in the camp restaurant a couple of times. Good food.
A circular walking route would be good and the shop should stock more food items of general use to campers, even if they're tinned or frozen!
Otherwise, this was a great place to spend time at the end of a three week trip. Relaxing and friendly.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank davidabenson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your kind feedback, we hope we see you again soon.
kind regards
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Sanctuary Park also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Madibeng, North-West Province
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mountain Sanctuary Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing