We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty at its best. Just to have that beautiful view around Magalisburg and Hartebees - WOW!!!”

Mountain Sanctuary Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46,11*
and up
Magaliesberg Canopy Tour
More Info
US$265,81*
and up
Private Magaliesberg Day Tour from Johannesburg including Hartbeespoort Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The area has a lot of attraction places for tourists. Lot of places to sit and eat also lunch of the boat. A lunch boat must pre-booked. My kids were happy to be on peak of Magaliesberg mountain. Having the opportunity to read history on the stones about various areas in South Africa as well as Botswana. This was educational and I loved that. We later enjoyed lunch in the restaurant up the mountain. Further to that, they enjoyed the cable ride thought they were a bit scared at first thinking it might fall - lol.

We then went through the tunnel, snake park and, and, and ....

There are a lot B&Bs and lodges also very beautiful. Exquisite I must say.

Thank cmC1236LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

To avoid confusion for future readers, this review is not about Mountain Sanctuary Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Sanctuary Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

this is a very nice hiking place, be sure to take your swimming trunks as at the end of you destination awaits beautiful freshwater pools. this place is very.

2  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Mark.
Glad you enjoyed your visit the pools are amazing as you say. We look forward to your next visit.
regards
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Loved this place we discovered through our purchase of a book 'Moer and gone'. We found a perfect spot close to some rock pools and only on taking a walk did we realize we were not even at the West Pools. Further to that we followed a trail to find the Leopard gully but got lost and would suggest a bit more signage. Otherwise a fabulous place to go to for beautiful scenery. Will be back!

Thank tripreviewTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Hi There, thanks for the wonderful comments. I understand the frustration with regards to signage on the hikes. The reason we don't have painted footprints and signs every where is because of the sensitivity of the area, the Magaliesberg is very prone to erosion with marked trails everyone follows the exact route and the result is a eroded path that cant be restored to its natural state as it took millions of years to form. However we will consider more direction signs.
kind regards
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Went to mountain sanctuary for a day hike with my partner.

The place is very beautiful but has little signage. We spent more time getting lost than having a fun hike.

Management need to do something about the signage as everyone we met that day complained about the same problem

Thank vellocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Hi There, thanks for the feedback. I understand the frustration with regards to signage on the hikes. The reason we don't have painted footprints and signs every where is because of the sensitivity of the area, the Magaliesberg is very prone to erosion with marked trails everyone follows the exact route and the result is a eroded path that cant be restored to its natural state as it took millions of years to form. By allowing our guests the freedom to explore the area and walk where they want drastically reduces erosion. However we will consider more direction signs.
kind regards
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This reserve is a 2hr drive from Sandton, and be sure to take the N4 toll road route as the country road has not been maintained at all through the informal settlement - it is positively dangerous with waterfilled potholes, crumbling tar, and unmarked speed humps. Let alone the profusion of garbage and filth.
The dirt road leading to the reserve is fine for sedan cars, provided you drive slowly, and the facilities once you get there are great! We have been returning for decades - no radios and no pets ensure that the peace and tranquillity of the bush can be enjoyed by campers and daytrippers alike. The trails, views, and topography are magnificent! Ablution facilities and toilets are clean and well maintained. A wonderful outing for a day - we were a family of 5, with 2 of us from Sydney, and we only had good things to say!

Thank talia301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It makes us so happy to know that MSP is a haven to people like you and family and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Our Sanctuary is precious to us and people like you make what we do an absolute pleasure and joy.
Stacy and Owen sutton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Sanctuary Park also viewed

 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mountain Sanctuary Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing