We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Hike”

Mountain Sanctuary Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46,99*
and up
Magaliesberg Canopy Tour
More Info
US$270,90*
and up
Private Magaliesberg Day Tour from Johannesburg including Hartbeespoort Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day Hike”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Went to mountain sanctuary for a day hike with my partner.

The place is very beautiful but has little signage. We spent more time getting lost than having a fun hike.

Management need to do something about the signage as everyone we met that day complained about the same problem

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank vellocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Hi There, thanks for the feedback. I understand the frustration with regards to signage on the hikes. The reason we don't have painted footprints and signs every where is because of the sensitivity of the area, the Magaliesberg is very prone to erosion with marked trails everyone follows the exact route and the result is a eroded path that cant be restored to its natural state as it took millions of years to form. By allowing our guests the freedom to explore the area and walk where they want drastically reduces erosion. However we will consider more direction signs.
kind regards
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    5
    4
    11
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picnic Heaven”
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This reserve is a 2hr drive from Sandton, and be sure to take the N4 toll road route as the country road has not been maintained at all through the informal settlement - it is positively dangerous with waterfilled potholes, crumbling tar, and unmarked speed humps. Let alone the profusion of garbage and filth.
The dirt road leading to the reserve is fine for sedan cars, provided you drive slowly, and the facilities once you get there are great! We have been returning for decades - no radios and no pets ensure that the peace and tranquillity of the bush can be enjoyed by campers and daytrippers alike. The trails, views, and topography are magnificent! Ablution facilities and toilets are clean and well maintained. A wonderful outing for a day - we were a family of 5, with 2 of us from Sydney, and we only had good things to say!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank talia301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It makes us so happy to know that MSP is a haven to people like you and family and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Our Sanctuary is precious to us and people like you make what we do an absolute pleasure and joy.
Stacy and Owen sutton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brits, South Africa
1 review
“Remember it as a kid”
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We went there with a school trip when I was about 11yrs ....I cant remember that it was open to the public, I think it was privately owned because we met the owner the next day and I mentioned that if you can't relax here, you need medical attention. :) That is really how I felt! We took a very long hike (couple of hours) to big rock pools and natural slides. I was fascinated by this place! We camped there, saw fireflies...it was wild and earthly with a humbleness to it.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank dieldamienie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, its for conservation and people like yourselves that we do what we do. We look forward to your next visit.
kind regards
owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day visit - what a disappointment!”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Entrance fee for day visitors was R275 for a cpl and a car (??). The view is beautiful but the paths are unmarked and the pools were almost empty. Would not visit there again.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank AstroZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Good Day thank you for your review. I would like to address your issues, firstly as I am sure you know the country has been in the grip of one of the worst droughts ever so yes naturally the natural mountain pools have been low. With regards to the hiking trails, we encourage our guests to make full use of the 1000 hectares available to them as this reduces impact on the very sensitive area available for hiking and reduces erosion. Baboons pull out signs and we would never deface the mountain with painted footprints, while our guests experience is of upmost importance to us conservation will always take priority.
Owen Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Day visit. ”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This was a day visit, during the mid week, although I have camped here many years ago.
It is tucked away on a long dust road, which can be fairly bumpy - corrugations caused by rain water and traffic - but well worth a visit. Very tranquil with a a good wide range of walking trails available.
The day we were there was very quite - not sure if there were any other visitors at all, on the day. It is for camping, so by no means luxury, but the sites are spacious enough, and the ablution blocks are in good shape, very usable , and secure.
If you fancy a bit of peace and quiet- this is the place to be.
I know there is a pool, which I had made regular use of in the past - with a great view - but I cannot say I checked the pool out on this visit, so couldn't comment on its current status.
Beautiful place!

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Thank you so much we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
kind regards
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Sanctuary Park also viewed

 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mountain Sanctuary Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing