We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remember it as a kid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Sanctuary Park

Mountain Sanctuary Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$282,80*
and up
Private Magaliesberg Day Tour from Johannesburg including Hartbeespoort Dam
Brits, South Africa
1 review
“Remember it as a kid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017

We went there with a school trip when I was about 11yrs ....I cant remember that it was open to the public, I think it was privately owned because we met the owner the next day and I mentioned that if you can't relax here, you need medical attention. :) That is really how I felt! We took a very long hike (couple of hours) to big rock pools and natural slides. I was fascinated by this place! We camped there, saw fireflies...it was wild and earthly with a humbleness to it.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank dieldamienie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, its for conservation and people like yourselves that we do what we do. We look forward to your next visit.
kind regards
owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    5
    4
    11
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day visit - what a disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Entrance fee for day visitors was R275 for a cpl and a car (??). The view is beautiful but the paths are unmarked and the pools were almost empty. Would not visit there again.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank AstroZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Good Day thank you for your review. I would like to address your issues, firstly as I am sure you know the country has been in the grip of one of the worst droughts ever so yes naturally the natural mountain pools have been low. With regards to the hiking trails, we encourage our guests to make full use of the 1000 hectares available to them as this reduces impact on the very sensitive area available for hiking and reduces erosion. Baboons pull out signs and we would never deface the mountain with painted footprints, while our guests experience is of upmost importance to us conservation will always take priority.
Owen Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Day visit. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This was a day visit, during the mid week, although I have camped here many years ago.
It is tucked away on a long dust road, which can be fairly bumpy - corrugations caused by rain water and traffic - but well worth a visit. Very tranquil with a a good wide range of walking trails available.
The day we were there was very quite - not sure if there were any other visitors at all, on the day. It is for camping, so by no means luxury, but the sites are spacious enough, and the ablution blocks are in good shape, very usable , and secure.
If you fancy a bit of peace and quiet- this is the place to be.
I know there is a pool, which I had made regular use of in the past - with a great view - but I cannot say I checked the pool out on this visit, so couldn't comment on its current status.
Beautiful place!

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2017
Thank you so much we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
kind regards
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wild Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

This place is very peaceful, great views as well. It seems a bit intimidating at first, but once you get going its very easy to hike, well marked as well. So you won't get lost.

Its very vast and open, so parts you do see some civilization but overall its quite.

We paid a R100 to do the hike.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nduvho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
thank you so much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the Sanctuary and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

This trip was undertaken a few years back with a best friend and her daughter and we stayed in a log cabin which was really specious and practically furnished. We took long hikes daily on the various hiking trails well marked out and thoroughly enjoyed them, especially the very deep pools where we picnicked for lunch on the flat rocks. It was reasonably priced for a weekend away and the beauty of this place is aptly captured in the title of "sanctuary" as that's exactly what it is - a sanctuary for the soul. Would definitely return.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
it always makes us happy to hear that guests have had the experience that you had, and we do hope that you will return to the sanctuary. we try our best to keep the rates as low as we can and still offer our guests great accommodation and a wonderful all round experience. thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Sanctuary Park also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mountain Sanctuary Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing