We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember it as a kid”

Mountain Sanctuary Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45,76*
and up
Magaliesberg Canopy Tour
More Info
US$263,80*
and up
Private Magaliesberg Day Tour from Johannesburg including Hartbeespoort Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We went there with a school trip when I was about 11yrs ....I cant remember that it was open to the public, I think it was privately owned because we met the owner the next day and I mentioned that if you can't relax here, you need medical attention. :) That is really how I felt! We took a very long hike (couple of hours) to big rock pools and natural slides. I was fascinated by this place! We camped there, saw fireflies...it was wild and earthly with a humbleness to it.

Thank dieldamienie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, its for conservation and people like yourselves that we do what we do. We look forward to your next visit.
kind regards
owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Entrance fee for day visitors was R275 for a cpl and a car (??). The view is beautiful but the paths are unmarked and the pools were almost empty. Would not visit there again.

1  Thank AstroZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Good Day thank you for your review. I would like to address your issues, firstly as I am sure you know the country has been in the grip of one of the worst droughts ever so yes naturally the natural mountain pools have been low. With regards to the hiking trails, we encourage our guests to make full use of the 1000 hectares available to them as this reduces impact on the very sensitive area available for hiking and reduces erosion. Baboons pull out signs and we would never deface the mountain with painted footprints, while our guests experience is of upmost importance to us conservation will always take priority.
Owen Sutton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
185
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This was a day visit, during the mid week, although I have camped here many years ago.
It is tucked away on a long dust road, which can be fairly bumpy - corrugations caused by rain water and traffic - but well worth a visit. Very tranquil with a a good wide range of walking trails available.
The day we were there was very quite - not sure if there were any other visitors at all, on the day. It is for camping, so by no means luxury, but the sites are spacious enough, and the ablution blocks are in good shape, very usable , and secure.
If you fancy a bit of peace and quiet- this is the place to be.
I know there is a pool, which I had made regular use of in the past - with a great view - but I cannot say I checked the pool out on this visit, so couldn't comment on its current status.
Beautiful place!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Thank you so much we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
kind regards
Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

This place is very peaceful, great views as well. It seems a bit intimidating at first, but once you get going its very easy to hike, well marked as well. So you won't get lost.

Its very vast and open, so parts you do see some civilization but overall its quite.

We paid a R100 to do the hike.

Thank Nduvho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

thank you so much for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the Sanctuary and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

This trip was undertaken a few years back with a best friend and her daughter and we stayed in a log cabin which was really specious and practically furnished. We took long hikes daily on the various hiking trails well marked out and thoroughly enjoyed them, especially the very deep pools where we picnicked for lunch on the flat rocks. It was reasonably priced for a weekend away and the beauty of this place is aptly captured in the title of "sanctuary" as that's exactly what it is - a sanctuary for the soul. Would definitely return.

Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

it always makes us happy to hear that guests have had the experience that you had, and we do hope that you will return to the sanctuary. we try our best to keep the rates as low as we can and still offer our guests great accommodation and a wonderful all round experience. thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Sanctuary Park also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mountain Sanctuary Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing