We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and scenic”

Mountain Sanctuary Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46,39*
and up
Magaliesberg Canopy Tour
More Info
US$267,43*
and up
Private Magaliesberg Day Tour from Johannesburg including Hartbeespoort Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful and scenic”
Reviewed 15 December 2016

This trip was undertaken a few years back with a best friend and her daughter and we stayed in a log cabin which was really specious and practically furnished. We took long hikes daily on the various hiking trails well marked out and thoroughly enjoyed them, especially the very deep pools where we picnicked for lunch on the flat rocks. It was reasonably priced for a weekend away and the beauty of this place is aptly captured in the title of "sanctuary" as that's exactly what it is - a sanctuary for the soul. Would definitely return.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
it always makes us happy to hear that guests have had the experience that you had, and we do hope that you will return to the sanctuary. we try our best to keep the rates as low as we can and still offer our guests great accommodation and a wonderful all round experience. thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    5
    4
    11
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Day visit - absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Visited for the day. Just a 30min walk to the natural rock pools, these were so refreshing after the walk and absolutely stunning! There is also a normal swimming pool which was nice and big, where you can have a colddrink/drink from the bar.
We didn't eat or stay overnight.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank JRopertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
thank you for taking the time to review MSP, we are so glad that you enjoyed your day and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location, but accommodation lets it down”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay at MS after it was recommended by a colleague.

The location is stunning and the walks were incredible (I live in London, so it was just amazing to experience). 2 days was enough for us to visit all the major sites.

In terms of walks, even though SA is currently experiencing critical water supplies, the west pools were deep enough to swim in and this is something I will remember forever. The grotto, although you cannot swim, was again a must and looks like something from Jurassic Park. We also visited the slide pools, but due to low water levels, these were quite disappointing. It would have been nice on check in to be guided on what areas were currently good for swimming or just for viewing. On our last morning, we walked to the rapids, which had a great many little pools that were great for my daughter to paddle in. The one real gripe I had, was that there was a loud generator at the rapids. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate that you need to source water for the camp, but again it would have been nice for a notice at the start of the rapids trail, just saying the generator was on as it would allow you to walk to another site if you want peace and quiet.

In terms of accommodation, we were in log cabin number 5 (a 3 bed - in our group we had 4 adults and a 10 month old). The cabins living space was quite small and for a cabin that should hold 6, there was only one 2 seater sofa in the living room. The outside furniture provided didn't have a parasol, so we couldn't eat lunch outside as there was no shade. Also, the '3rd' bedroom was a mezzanine level room that didn't have any curtains or nets over them, therefore you couldn't sleep 6 people comfortably. Our daughter needed one of the down stair rooms as she needed curtains, so myself and my husband ended up on the second floor and we didn't sleep well either night. Finally, we paid for a cot to be provided which was more than adequate (if not a bit old), but they didn't have a high chair to hire. The disappointment was that for a small cost, management could make this a lot better.

Overall, I would return, but I would request a different log cabin.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank greenwichbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
good morning, firstly I apologise for the late response, we have only now got the trip advisor site up and running our side again.
thank you for taking the time to put forward your comments, and I would very much like respond to the concerns and points made.
the noise at the rapids was from the pump, that pumps water to the camp when the grotto cannot supply enough. I am sorry that you were not told about this on arrival, we have addressed this with the staff for future, the pump has been replaced to ensure a quieter, safer environment.
we have been busy over the years, with upgrades to the accommodation, unfortunately it doesn't happen as quickly as we would like, as we do have to save for these projects, and we do the work ourselves, so time is not always on our side.
Cabin number 5 has been beautifully upgraded, with a sliding door and deck on the upstairs, allowing a gorgeous view, a new larger downstairs deck, a magnificent large new tree in the front was the final touch, to allow for shade.
it is now more spacious and open, and looks just lovely.
we have also upgraded the chalets and added a new ablution, we are in the process of opening a restaurant, and adding a car port to the reception car-park, so things are definitely happening, i am just so sorry that you didn't get to see this on your visit.
i do hope you will return to the sanctuary, to enjoy the changes which will hopefully give you an all round better experience.
kindest regards and best wishes for 2017
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illovo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute tranquility”
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I had heard about this place for years before first visiting but now visit at least 3 times a year. Excellent camping sites and a range of other accommodation means that everyone can find something that works for them. The real highlight though is the hikes - ranging from a 10 minute walk to a pretty river to 6 or more hours through amazing rock formations. Swimming is possible in crystal clear river pools for most of the year and the resort has a surprisingly large swimming pool. Management are really strict on their no noise policy so you are able to enjoy a peaceful evening around a campfire after a great day hiking and swimming in the rivers. It is really amazing to have such a genuine experience of nature only a couple of hours from Johannesburg

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSPowner, Owner at Mountain Sanctuary Park, responded to this review, 12 January 2017
thank you so much for sharing your experience, we are so happy to hear that you return to MSP so often, and really hope that you continue to enjoy the sanctuary.
we have just added a new beautiful ablution in camp, and we are confident that this too will add to the convenience of camping and improve your stay even more next time.
we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Day hike at Mountain Sanctuary Park”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We have been doing day hikes in the Gauteng area in preperation for the Otter Trail. This trail is beautiful with lots of pretty spots along the river. There are gorgeous rock pools towards the end of the hike. It is not very strenuous with not many climbs so it is good for intermediate hikers.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank 476shannond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain Sanctuary Park also viewed

 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mountain Sanctuary Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing