We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mountain Sanctuary Park
from US$46,90
More Info
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
35
34
8
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
34
8
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock pools natural rock log cabin clean ablutions tuck shop a great place to spend braai wood the reserve great campsite natural slides two hours hiking trail nature sites rocks scenery
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We went camping at Mountain Sanctuary this weekend and was very disappointed. They have one ablution block that is supposed to service over 30 campsites. You cannot leave your campsite unattended as the baboons and monkeys are a nuisance and when i say that i am not over-exaggerating. One of the monkeys managed to enter our bakkie through a small opening in the window and cracked the windscreen when we tried to scare it away. Apparently theft is also an issue. As you enter reception they have a big warning sign telling you to look after your belongings. This obviously does not make one feel safe! In the mornings they have workers that come to collect the ash of the fire from the previous night. The guy only collected the ash in the braai but left the ash that fell out of the braai on the ground. The above mentioned is only a few issues we had with the place. Its very sad to see a beautiful place like that mismanaged. We are serious campers and have been all over. Not once did the manager/person on duty come to our campsite to see if we are doing okay. Needless to say, i cannot with a clear conscious recommend this place to anyone..

Date of experience: July 2016
6  Thank jessicavenner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We went there with friends for a day visiting and really had an awesome day. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They gave us a (terrible) map (not detailed at all, actually useless, you will get lost for sure lol) and marked on the map a 45min walk (we had a 6 year old child). We left and went way to far up. We went down through the dried stream and ended up at the West pools where we could swim, go down the river, it was awesome! The scenary is spectacular.

Then we went back to the rest camp, had a nice braai and decided to swim at the swimming pool.

We felt very safe. The camp and all the facilities are clean.

The only negative thing is the marking. It is inexisiting. No indication of where to start. No directions. You only see the sign once you have arrived (West pools/Rapids etc). Maybe management should work on that.

Date of experience: March 2016
4  Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We enjoyed 3 days hiking in this wonderful nature, we'd really like to come back. The cabin was clean, well equipped and with a wonderful view, staff was very friendly.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank 35ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

If you're looking for a rustic log cabin (or even just a place to pitch your tent) in a very special mountain range like the 2300 million year old Magaliesberg Mountain range, this is a special place. The rock pools at this park, which is just a two hour drive from Joburg are the main reason I went with my kids. We had great fun "kloofing" the ravine, as we found our way around rocks and trees to each of the wonderful rock pools. Very strict and sensible "no loud music/people/etc." rules are enforced which is great to know since many nature areas in SA have become disaster areas because of loud people who don't respect nature, or the people sharing it with them. Another reviewer complained terribly that they were thrown off the property at 2am because of being noisy. In my view, that's brilliant, they deserved what they got, don't go there if you plan to play music and be noisy until 2am, or you may end up being another disappointed reviewer.

Izak, who checked us in deserves special mention. I'd expected to be able to buy braai meat and veggies from their shop, but it turned out they only stocked cold drinks, crisps and braai wood. He happily sold me his boerewors, which he'd bought elsewhere earlier in the day, for his dinner, for the same price on the label. He also gave my kids free ice cream when they went up to the shop on their own. What a great guy.

There's a lovely swimming pool with a deck and beautiful views across the mountains, great place for sunset.

The rooms are unserviced, but fully stocked with all catering equipment. It's fun cleaning up, leaving it like you found it, with the kids before checking out.

Magalies Ziplining Canopy tours are just 3km away

100% recommended ancient mountain range experience. Look out for the Klipspringers, weathered rocks and ancient shoreline ripple rocks.

Will be back, every weekend if possible.

Date of experience: November 2015
8  Thank st3veB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

So today the 28th of Nov me and some friend when to hike at MSP (mountain sanctuary park) and got a permit to go in to Tonquany it was a bit over cast but it was good weather for hiking and the guy at the office was very nice and welcoming made us feel very nice to be there and the hole day was lovely really hope we get to go throw again soon. And here is a pile of rock we found very cool.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank mikewolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews