We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Kayak Cape Town tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
75
4
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
4
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews awesome experience fun trip rough seas boulders beach cancelled due cape town paddling seals outing simonstown windy safety rescheduled pace information sights activity
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

The tour was a lot of fun and good exercise. I'd never kayaked before but it's pretty easy to pick up and isn't a big strain - there's no race. We had some swells but not choppy and we got to stop at the penguin beach for some photos which they make available on their Facebook page. Also got to really close to seals in the water.

Bring sun cream, even if the wind of the water does make out feel cool.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Sam_slop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

When trying to make a booking had the unfortunate experience of dealing with the rudest unpleasant man. Not sure you should be in the business of dealing with the public. Just trying to get information and he was abrupt and hung up. Thanks for that! If you are the owner shame on you, if you just work there you should be fired!

Date of experience: February 2017
3  Thank clairewray1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakCapeTown, Owner at Kayak Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hi Clare.
Yes I was rude to you.
What you conveniently neglected to mention here was that in your call to us you were were rude to me, and my rudeness was in response to yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I kayaked with my daughter and her husband and their 3 university aged children, my grandchildren, from the wharf area to the area where the penguins hang out. We had small white caps and waves but we were all able to make the paddle successfully - even this 75 year old great grandmother. The penguins were molting so they were not in the water with us. Hopefully the next time we do this paddle, thnckey won't be molting. They guides were very knowledgeable and safety conscious. My advice is - DO IT!!! Clarice Hebi

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank khandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We had a great time with Derek and his fellow guides! They provided everything we needed, including water and even shared their sunscreen with us as we were running out. They gave good information about both the wildlife that we saw, as well as some general information about the area. They were enthusiastic and fun. And as an extra bonus, they shared photos from the trip with us via there Facebook page, which was great as we had not brought a camera with us in the boat for fear of loss/damage to it. All in all, a great trip. Put it on your list for fun active things to do in the Cape Town area!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank KathrynJShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakCapeTown, Owner at Kayak Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Many thanks Kathryn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

An excellent outing that I'd recommend for locals and visitors alike. A great way to see seals and penguins and feel that you are in their habitat for a while rather than just viewing from dry land.
Guides were informative and made us all feel safe with clear, easy to follow instructions. The afternoon we went was quite windy making the sea a bit choppy so some fitness is required if the weather is not perfect. We loved the experience and would be keen to do it again!

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakCapeTown, Owner at Kayak Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you Wendy, and we hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews