We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayak Cape Town - Boulders trip”
Review of Kayak Cape Town

Kayak Cape Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23,28*
and up
Kayak Trip to the Boulders Penguins from Simon's Town
Ranked #4 of 21 Tours in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paddle the warm waters of False Bay and we'll show you some rather amazing things on our kayak trip to visit the penguins at Boulders Beach. No experience is necessary and it's no more taxing than hiking up a hill. Professionally guided Sea Kayak Paddles every day at 9.30Am throughout the year, weather permitting. Our kayaks are designed for maximum stability in all conditions. Age is no barrier - anyone with full mobility from 10 upwards can do it. All trips are led by knowledgable and experienced professional guides.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Kayak Cape Town - Boulders trip”
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Wow, what an awesome trip! Great guides, great view and a wonderful way to see Simonstown and Boulders beach and the penguins. A must for all visitors and locals in Cape Town!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank wanitagoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    11
    1
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great kayaking experience even for a 75 years old woman! Do it!”
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I kayaked with my daughter and her husband and their 3 university aged children, my grandchildren, from the wharf area to the area where the penguins hang out. We had small white caps and waves but we were all able to make the paddle successfully - even this 75 year old great grandmother. The penguins were molting so they were not in the water with us. Hopefully the next time we do this paddle, thnckey won't be molting. They guides were very knowledgeable and safety conscious. My advice is - DO IT!!! Clarice Hebi

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank khandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
2 reviews
“Great kayaking trip!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We had a great time with Derek and his fellow guides! They provided everything we needed, including water and even shared their sunscreen with us as we were running out. They gave good information about both the wildlife that we saw, as well as some general information about the area. They were enthusiastic and fun. And as an extra bonus, they shared photos from the trip with us via there Facebook page, which was great as we had not brought a camera with us in the boat for fear of loss/damage to it. All in all, a great trip. Put it on your list for fun active things to do in the Cape Town area!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank KathrynJShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakCapeTown, Owner at Kayak Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 January 2017
Many thanks Kathryn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique perspective viewing Seals and Penguins from the Sea”
Reviewed 1 January 2017

An excellent outing that I'd recommend for locals and visitors alike. A great way to see seals and penguins and feel that you are in their habitat for a while rather than just viewing from dry land.
Guides were informative and made us all feel safe with clear, easy to follow instructions. The afternoon we went was quite windy making the sea a bit choppy so some fitness is required if the weather is not perfect. We loved the experience and would be keen to do it again!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakCapeTown, Owner at Kayak Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 January 2017
Thank you Wendy, and we hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun trip, great views!”
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Had a fantastic time on sea with these guys. Saw penguins from afar and quite a few seals gambolling in water right next to us! The landscape looks all the more stunning from the sea. The guides were knowledgeable, super supportive and helped in speeding us along when we were lagging behind the rest of the group. The choppy waters we encountered while returning were fun to navigate through, thanks to the wind that had our back and reduced our efforts ;-) The kayaking does require some work, especially when the wind isn't blowing the right way, but anyone can do it as long as you keep going at the paddles :)

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank o--Ami--o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayak Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Kayak Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing