We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun but choppy morning on sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kayak Cape Town

Kayak Cape Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23,58*
and up
Kayak Trip to the Boulders Penguins from Simon's Town
Ranked #4 of 21 Tours in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paddle the warm waters of False Bay and we'll show you some rather amazing things on our kayak trip to visit the penguins at Boulders Beach. No experience is necessary and it's no more taxing than hiking up a hill. Professionally guided Sea Kayak Paddles every day at 9.30Am throughout the year, weather permitting. Our kayaks are designed for maximum stability in all conditions. Age is no barrier - anyone with full mobility from 10 upwards can do it. All trips are led by knowledgable and experienced professional guides.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fun but choppy morning on sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

Fun tour- great instructors who were knowledgeable about area.
Didn't get as close to boulder's beach as i thought we would - maybe because of weather??
Saw lots of seals
Great fish and chippy just there for lunch :)

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank jolly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayakCapeTown, Owner at Kayak Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 December 2016
Hi Jolly,

Yes that's why. We normally get much closer and spend more time with the penguins but because it was so choppy and windy we could not. Thanks for reviewing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    11
    1
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
545 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Super fun and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

The 2.5 hour kayak tour is a perfect way to start the day. They actually do not have a physical shop - you book ahead on-line and meet them at the dock where their kayaks are stored. They also advise that you call in the morning as they might cancel the outings in bad/windy weather. They provide instruction, life jackets, a light jacket to keep your upper body dry, some drinking water, and of course the kayak and paddle. The guides were great - they didn't rush the slower ones and gave great narration along the way. Of course you can walk to the same spots to see the penguins, but seeing them from the water side was a neat treat.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank loveDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Kayak trip to Boulders Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

It was a well organized tour with fun guides who love what they are doing. And who wouldn't! Being out there among the seals, penguins and kelp gives you a different perspective of Simonstown.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing morning with the Penguins ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had a fantastic 2 hours kayaking with penguins and seals. Amazing views all around and Derek is a great guide too!

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Kayak tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Enjoyable kayak through Simons Town harbour and along to the beginning of Boulders Beach to see the penguins.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank James U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayak Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Kayak Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing