We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Ranked #3 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Myself and two work colleagues stayed at the Cheriton in October 2016 while on business. We arrived late at the hotel and the owner Denise & Dirk ensured they were available for our arrival. Dirk was also extremely helpful in recommending places to eat that would still be open. After a speedy check-in by Dirk and a quick walk around he then volunteered to give us a lift to the centre for a place to eat. We couldn't of asked for more after a long journey from the UK via Dubai.

Initial impressions of the hotel and owners were positive and we were made to feel extremely welcome.

I stayed in the Emily Hobhouse room, located off "The Private Pub" which was decorated with previous guests memorabilia, it was amazing and with the bar being run as a honesty bar it just added to the memorable stay. The guest who stays in the Emily Hobhouse room also has the key and control to this bar. The only rule is that the bar must stay open to other guests till 8pm and after that it is at the discretion of the occupant.

The bedroom was large with plenty of room and the shower was excellent. There were plenty of free condiments ie coffee, biscuits and water to satisfy any guest. The only downside was the WIFI was not working during our stay.

Breakfast was outside on the veranda overlooking the tranquil garden with stunning views of the bay. I have not eaten breakfast in a better and to go with the views the breakfast which was made to order was top notch and more than expected. It set us up for our day's work.

Walk to the centre is no problems, its all downhill and takes approx 15 mins. Walking back though is all uphill and the last 100 yards back to the B&B in pretty steep so more like 20-25mins walk. It will definitely improve your fitness and burn off the calories from your night out so with a negative is a positive.

I have absolutely no negatives from our stay (even with the uphill walk back). I could not recommend the B&B enough and would definitely look to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Manager at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. The Cheriton team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay. The wi-fi is up and running again, twice the speed. There was a problem with a cable in town. We hope to see you again. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We had a one night stay here and what a cool place! Dirk was very accommodating and friendly with several excellent recommendations. The English breakfast was incredible! It's just a short walk down the hill to town and you might even get to see some locals in town out in their tuxedos:)
Highly recommend if you like a B&B with a lot of charm, great hosts, and great breakfast. We'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Nice and clean rooms. Very nice view over the bay and excellent service. A quite steep hill to the B&B. Took about 15-20 minutes to walk to the centre of Simons Town. And further least 5 to railwaystation.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 511karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

When we got to the Cheriton it felt like home from home love and cosy , filled with things of interest and as for the bar it was great like a true British pub , The room was clean and Denise had not forgot'en anything from plugs (English) to homemade snacks every day in room and as for Dirk so helpful nothing is to much trouble for them or there staff .
Sorry this comes late but thought I had done it but that was on booking.com

Room Tip: It is on a Hill so if your fit great we used Taxi and our car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Loved the uniqueness of this B&B. Had lots of interesting things on display and would delight anyone with an interest in the navy in general. Located up quite a steep hill so it would be necessary to get a taxi to and from restaurants. Absolutely beautiful views from the balconies. Bonus!!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miriammO2673KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise and Dirk B, Owner at Cheriton Guest House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.1 km away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
1.3 km away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
278 reviews
0.4 km away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 31 in Simon's Town
413 reviews
0.4 km away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#10 of 31 in Simon's Town
102 reviews
2.4 km away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 31 in Simon's Town
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheriton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton Guest House B&B

Address: 19 Belmont Road | Seaforth, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: R1 433 - R1 685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheriton Guest House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very cosy, century old Victorian home overlooking False Bay. Maritime theme throughout. Quiet, safe suburb. 5 minutes walk to the famous Boulders penguin colony and the beach. 10 minutes drive to Cape Point national park. 30 different bird species are frequent visitors to our lovely garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cheriton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing