We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Pumulani

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Malawi National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pumulani
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Fabulous relaxing holiday with friends. Friendly staff, awesome location, lovely food, beautiful accommodation. Pumulani has breathtaking views over Lake Malawi. The infinity pool and the trip on the speedboat to snorkel amongst the cichlids were the highlights of the holiday, closely followed by an an amazing lunch on the sun drenched beach.

Stayed April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jackiea811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
29
55
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

It can be difficult to find a really high quality resort or lodge along Lake Malawi, but fortunately Pumulani is one of the few that are out there. I stayed over Easter weekend and found it to be extremely restful, with beautiful views of the lake, convenient swimming pools, spacious and luxurious guest rooms and high quality meals. The guest rooms are the largest and nicest I've seen in any guest house in Malawi.

I enjoyed the sundowner (trip out of the lake) and after a 15 minute boat ride further along the bay, we were able to see some hippos up close. Note that hippos and crocs are not anywhere near the beach, so you can enjoy the beach without fear. I also enjoyed going scuba diving at Cape MacClear (about a twenty-minute boat ride away from Pumullani).

Overall highly recommended!

Room Tip: Can avoid a lot of stairs if you stay at Villa #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Travelled to Pumulani from Lilongwe with my daughter and her family, both as a family holiday and a celebration of my 70th year. The resort was outstanding: A beautiful vista, first class facilities,, so much to do - swimming, diving, sailing, sundowner or breakfast cruises on a dhow, fishing, power boating, or simply relaxing. The food and drinks were very good and thoughtfully prepared, the staff outstanding (thank you to hosts Christelle and Josh) and the atmosphere glorious.

Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
915 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Perched high on a hillside overlooking Lake Malawi, this hotel is about as good as it gets in Malawi. The rooms are spectacular and huge. Over 1500 sq ft, the rooms are more like houses. There is a vestibule, a living room, a bedroom, a bathroom the size of a major room, and two balconies overlooking Lake Malawi. The furnishings are luxurious yet tastefully inspired by the location. There is adequate AC in the bedroom part of the room.

The eating area is al fresco (although there is a covered part if it rains). The eating area overlooks the lake. There is an infinity pool that also overlooks the lake. Although there is internet, the bandwidth gets overloaded quickly. Don't plan on doing anything significant with your computer.

Activities include mountain biking into the village (actually acceptable quality bikes). The villagers generally don't like their pictures taken, though. There is a sunset dhow cruise with sundowners. One night we saw a huge pod of hippos. The highlight is the snorkeling. Although this is not included, you can't miss the opportunity. Lake Malawi is famous for the cichlids (tiny colorful fish) that come in a huge variety of species. An evolutionary wonder. It's like swimming in a fish bowl. Of note, the cost is $60 US per person "to cover fuel costs." My issue with that is that it is not a flat fee but per person. Fuel costs do not go up if there are more people on the boat but the price does. Small quibble. There are also birdwatching walks. There are really not many birds and it's not a worthwhile endeavor.

Please note: The rooms are scattered up and down the hillside. The stairs are steep. They are not even. They slope variably up and down. The hotel is not handicapped accessible. Even for those in shape, it is a long walk up and down each time. It's good for exercise as well as for privacy, but be prepared for a work out.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had had a busy and draining 12 months and were looking for somewhere to recharge our batteries. And that is precisely what happened at Pumulani. The setting overlooking this amazing lake is simply divine and Christelle and the team did everything possible to make our stay perfect. The water facilities on the private sandy beach are of very good quality, the staff knowledgeable and accommodating, the food delicious. As to the chalets, they are simply gorgeous. Each is effectively a complete suite of rooms, each part with panoramic views across the lake. Airy, spacious and beautifully appointed, with large balconies and complete privacy, comfort is assured.
I would love to make a return journey very soon.

Room Tip: All gorgeous but there are quite a lot of steps to some. If a problem, ask for a room on the level o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Malawi National Park
4.9 km away
Gecko Lounge
Gecko Lounge
#1 of 1 in Cape Maclear
81 reviews
38.7 km away
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
Sunbird Nkopola Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mangochi
64 reviews
8.8 km away
Thumbi View Lodge
Thumbi View Lodge
#1 of 19 in Cape Maclear
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
The Makokola Retreat
The Makokola Retreat
#1 of 3 in Mangochi
118 reviews
17.5 km away
Nkhudzi Lodge
Nkhudzi Lodge
#2 of 18 in Mangochi
10 reviews
8.7 km away
The Funky Cichlid
The Funky Cichlid
#1 of 3 in Cape Maclear
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumulani

Property: Pumulani
Address: Monkey Bay, Lake Malawi National Park 10101, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Lake Malawi National Park
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Malawi National Park
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Pumulani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The brightest star on the Lake.” Pumulani is situated on the west side of the Nankumba Peninsula in the south end of Lake Malawi – romantically called “The Lake of Stars.” The peninsula is recognised as one of the most beautiful shores of the lake and borders Lake Malawi National Park (a World Heritage Site). The lodge is built on a steep hillside which provides the most spectacular views from our villas, dining and main lodge area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pumulani Hotel Lake Malawi National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing