We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sweetwater was amazing . To wake up watching the animals by the watering hole was spectacular. The accommodations were perfect. I was worried about being in a tent, but shouldn't have. The linens were top grade. The hot water bottle at night was a nice touch. Good stuff in the bathroom

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I live and work in Nairobi with my wife and three young children. We wanted to take our kids on their first game safari to see elephants but did not want to drive far or pay for expensive plane tickets. The closest and best choice seemed Ol Pejeta Conservancy which is most famous for its rhino conservation program. The drive itself is around 4 hours on a new tarmac road, but we stopped for breakfast at Frapa Leisure Gardens just past Sagana about half way from Nairobi to Nanyuki where is Ol Pejeta Conservancy and Mount Kenya. While I cannot find Frapa Leisure Gardens on TripAdvisor, it is a very nice and clean local hotel that serves a very good basic breakfast with a nice garden and play area for kids. It's a very good "pit stop" from Nairobi to Nanyuki, especially if you are travelling with kids.

At Ol Pejeta Conservancy, we stayed at Serena Sweetwaters Tented Camp which was wonderful in all respects. Great staff, great accommodation and great food. Anything we asked, they were more than willing to help. The luxury tented camps surround a flood lit watering hole that attracts animals day and night. Upon arriving and after having lunch, we watched a lone bull elephant lingering around the watering hole. We saw the same elephant this morning doing the same. We also saw plenty of buffalo, giraffe, gazelle and wart hogs. On our first game drive with the kids, we saw elephants, buffalo, rhino and lions all within view of each other. It was quite amazing. For bird lovers, the bird life was stunning. We even saw a pair of orange bellied parrots, if that's the correct name.

Without a doubt, this will be our destination of choice for long weekend game safaris with the kids, for reasons of cost (no expensive safari plane tickets) and proximity (only 4 hour drive from Nairobi), and for reasons of game viewing. Having been to the Masai Mara and other game parks many times, Ol Pejeta ranks among the best in terms of seeing elephants, rhino, buffalo, giraffe and lions especially, and general concentration of game. There are also a fair amount of leopard (but easier seen in Samburu) and cheetah (but easier seen in Masai Mara) which we still hope to see on our second day here.

As for accommodation, the luxury tents are truly luxury. Excellent 24/7 hot water at high pressure. In the cold mornings or after a dusty game drive, the showers were wonderful. The beds and beddings are also very comfy. Rooms are very spacious with nice verandahs for viewing the central watering hole.

In typical Serena standards, the food is very good. They pay special attention to fresh fruits and salads which my wife and I enjoyed. The basics like chicken, fish, beef and lamb were all of high quality. They also accommodated our special requests for our kids.

While we drove our family van from Nairobi, we elected to use the camp's local vehicles and drivers for game viewing. Our driver Gilbert was amazing with an ability to spot lions and other animals in the bush at great distances.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travellingwithmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sweetwater Tented cabins are the absolute luxury. They are so comfortable and beautiful, It is hard to imagine that you are in a tent. We were in the tent for a huge thunderstorm and the tent held up well. The overhead lamp swayed but we were not concerned. The bathrooms are also luxurious. We enjoyed sitting out in the veranda and watching the animals. The gift shop here is wonderful and I would highly recommend buying most of your souvenirs here. The prices are very reasonable and the quality and variety is very high. The staff here is nice but not as friendly as in many of the other lodges. You also tend to find the visitors to be heavily American and not as cosmopolitan as in the other lodges such as Sopa. The food is ok but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travelorinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our family of 8 visited for two nights and we were just blown away! The service (special shout out to our server David, who went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy), the food and the rooms were just perfect! The hotel is beautiful - it truly is the ultimate wilderness retreat! Thank You to the entire Serena team for such a wonderful stay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Azzrah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely luxurious tent made our stay very pleasant however we did not like the idea of being so close to electric fences. The whole idea of a great African safari was gone within split seconds and we felt as if we had been animals in zoo ourselves.

Services and food were delicious.

Warning - if you want a true African safari this is not a place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicar382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Kenya National Park
21.0 km away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
36.6 km away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
314 reviews
42.4 km away
Serena Mountain Lodge
Serena Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge
29.8 km away
Giraffe Ark Game Lodge
0.0 km away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#4 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwaters Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwaters Serena Camp

Address: Ol Pajeta Conservancy, Mount Kenya National Park, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Mount Kenya National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Mount Kenya National Park
Price Range: R4 017 - R7 619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sweetwaters Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sweetwaters Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Tented Camp Hotel Mount Kenya National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing