We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never too late to take up rafting!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Futaleufu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Futaleufu River Bio Bio Expeditions Camp
Reviewed 25 March 2017

With 3 other septuagenarians, tried just about everything, including a day lounging around camp, enjoying the quiet, the views, a wood stove, massage and good company. Had a fabulous group of interesting and mostly more experienced folk to share the whole fandango. Wonderful to have elders and kids in addition to the "campers." Guides were experts on the Fu, good trainers, attentive to safety and giving everyone a real sense of the beauties of the rivers. All the staff were attentive and eager to make the week a great time all round. Camp is well laid out, with plenty of amenities, plus the blessing of no light pollution from electric lights and no internet! The food was terrific - different cuisine every night based on the guides' roots. Even the rainy days made the rafting more exciting. What's not to love?!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence A, Propietario at Futaleufu River Bio Bio Expeditions Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and insights Becky! It was a real pleasure and inspiration to have y'all blend into the seemingly endless fun and funny times! Cheers! buenas lineas! Lorenzo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

Everything about this trip was first class. Absoluetly beautiful river and scenery with exhilarating rafting daily led by only the best river rafting guides! Other activities included kayaking, horseback riding, hiking and magnificent scenery everywhere. Camp is located right on the Futaleufu river, meals were unbelievable with themes from different countries each night, great bar area on the river, hot tubs. You can find as much peace or as much fun and excitement as you may want. Everyone who works with Bio Bio makes you feel like part of the family, and on our trip, all of the guests were wonderful also. Really a first class operation run by very special people!

Room Tip: This is not a hotel, it is an all inclusive experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence A, Owner at Futaleufu River Bio Bio Expeditions Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Linda and family!
thanks so much for your review and encouragement to future Futaleufu paddlers and adventurers! Your note reminds me it takes one to know one...
Y'all were so much fun to see smiling from ear to ear and the laughter still echos happily in the river canyon in front of camp!! Hasta pronto!!
Saludos, Lorenzo + Terry and the Fu crew!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Bio-Bio provides a Futaleufu experience that is second to none. Great (and extremely competent) guides, unbelievable food, fantastic lodging and well executed logistics. Every detail is taken care of and fun is to be had from the first welcome pisco to the final evening dance party. Hot tub! Local brews! Argentinian grilled meat night! Well trained horses on a gorgeous trail! Salsa dancing! Ducky day! Wine tasting! Asado night! Live music by incredibly talented guides! Personally delivered lattes every morning! Professional video and photos so you can leave the camera/phone at home! Yoga overlooking the river! The best night's sleep ever with high end sheets and river sounds lulling you to dreamland! I also appreciated how Bio-Bio's love of the Chilean country and that made for a cultural experience as well as a adventure trip. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence A, Owner at Futaleufu River Bio Bio Expeditions Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hi Mary!
As I sit here looking back at our Fu season and read your review I am delighted that you so warmly write about your experience with us at Bio Bio! And of course that it made such a favorable impact! We look forward to sharing an amazing experience with you again with your Bio Bio family! all the best! Lorenzo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

At my massage on day 5 of this trip, the massage therapist massaged my face and I realized my cheeks were sore from smiling so much. I can't say enough good things about this trip. It was magical from the start. The views were incredible, the food amazing, the rooms comfortable. They make their own ginger beer (among other things) and they will bring it to you in the hottub. Wake up to latte at your cabin and make your way to the amazing yoga deck for some excellent yoga classes. Go on one of the best trail rides. Learn to kayak by playing water polo. The staff there is like family (the fun, supportive sometimes little crazy kind) and I fell a little in love with Canela, the resident dog
Of course, the main reason to visit is the river and it did not disappoint there either. So many fun rapids and run so well I didn't even stress the class 5's. I've done rafting in many countries in the world and this was the best company I've ever rafted with. I am usually more of a budget traveler and the Canadian dollar is weak so I was hesitant at first to book but with all that this trip offers it was worth every penny. Book it, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Away from the bar if you like to go to bed early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chrissysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence A, Owner at Futaleufu River Bio Bio Expeditions Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hi Christine!
Thank so much for your heartfelt review and indeed encouraging others to join us! I hope you are the pebble in the pond that will get more Canandians coming our way! I think we should consider a reunion trip in 2018 on the Zambezi?? Hope all is well up north! Saludos, Lorenzo and the Fu crew!!! ~ y , buenas lineas!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

What a trip! We had a wonderful week.
We loved waking up to the sound of the roaring river and the birds chirping. We started our day with espresso followed by a yoga session surrounded by majestic mountains. The days were full of adventures and when we arrived back to camp the drinks were cold and the hot tubs were hot!
The staff was kind, friendly, knowledgeable and fun.
Did I mention the food? Hot soup and fresh salad every night followed by a delicious themed dinner party.
This was a trip filled with new friends, old friends, music, laughter, adventure, relaxation and memories that will last a lifetime. I can't wait to do it again!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurence A, Propietario at Futaleufu River Bio Bio Expeditions Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Hola!
Gracias por su carta! Thanks so much for your kind words and "sharing" your experience with futurre paddlers and adventurers! We look forward to having you back! nos vemos!
buenas lineas!
abrazos, Lorenzo and the Fu crew!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Futaleufu hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel El Barranco
Hotel El Barranco
#1 of 1 in Futaleufu
105 reviews
0.0 km away
Uman Lodge Patagonia Chile
Uman Lodge Patagonia Chile
#1 of 19 in Futaleufu
76 reviews
0.0 km away
Tineo Patagonia Lodge
Tineo Patagonia Lodge
#4 of 19 in Futaleufu
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hosteria Rio Grande
Hosteria Rio Grande
#4 of 7 in Futaleufu
38 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal La Gringa Carioca
Hostal La Gringa Carioca
#1 of 7 in Futaleufu
23 reviews
0.0 km away
Antigua Casona Patagonia B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Futaleufu River Bio Bio Expeditions Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Futaleufu River Bio Bio Expeditions Camp

Address: Sector Azul, Futaleufu 96160, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Futaleufu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Futaleufu
Price Range: R3 985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-sport trip in the heart of Patagonia! Activities include: whitewater rafting the Class IV-V Futaleufu River, hiking, horseback riding, flyfishing, daily yoga classes, and mountain biking! Stay at our deluxe riverside adventure camp with hot tub, sunset bar, massage, wine tasting, and more!Since 1992, Bio Bio Expeditions has offered active travelers exceptional rafting and trekking adventures in the world’s most spectacular settings. Join us as we travel the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, ascend to the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro, trek into Patagonia and Bhutan or raft on the great rivers of the world including the Zambezi, Zanskar, Tatshenshini, Pacuare, Apurimac or our favorite -- Multi Sport Rafting on the Futaleufu River in Chile - where we run our own exquisite base camp complete with private tented bungalows, indoor and outdoor yoga spaces, two river side hot tubs, sauna and massage studios.Those looking for a more luxurious adventure can explore our Galapagos sailing adventure or a custom safari in Africa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing