We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Much much better than we expected”
Villa from Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa from Pool
View from Terrace Garden Pool Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Villa from Pool
View from Terrace
Garden Pool Porch
Right Living
Left Living
Kitchen
Upper Landing
Upper Landing Towards Stairs
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Terrace
2nd Bedroom Towards Terrace
2nd Bedroom Towards En Suite Bathroom
Downstairs 3rd Bedroom
Porch Dining Table
From Pool Night
Private Driveway
Private Driveway and Villa Entrance
Garden Road to Beach
Playa Laguna Beach Right
Escondido Bay Gate
Villa on Google map
Adjacent Children's Water Playground
Aerial View of Sosua beach
Sosua Beach
Cabarete Beach
Cabarete Beach - Night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rudy C
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much much better than we expected”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first time in DR was a blast, mainly thanks to the wonderful stay we had at this villa.
Very comfortable, quiet and close to the town and the beach.
Well kept and lacking no essential amenity it provided the perfect escape from NY.
We had a blast!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to the beach and town for restaurants
Liked least: certain roads on the island need maintenance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeve L
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BETTER THAN ADVERTISED”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautiful, the big pool refreshing and the Playa Laguna beach appeared to be for just the four of us. The security of the area is unbelievable and Teresa, the housekeeper, a diamond. Conveniently situated between Sosua and Cabarete, we very much enjoyed both and had a great time. Highly recommended.

Muchas, muchas gracias!

(Dates stayed March 27-April 5, 2013)

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Teresa, the housekeeper, a diamond.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little_Wh...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Winter Escape to Paradise!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this villa on more or less on a whim to escape the cold of the Northeast and boy, did we luck out!

The villa and its surroundings were even better than expected. The arrival was smooth and Daniel turned out to be an excellent host - oriented us and gave us a ton of tips on what to do, when and where. The Wi-fi - very important for me - was there and with a strong signal. All ACs and appliances worked; there is even a washing machine, very convenient! The pool guy came on a regular basis to keep the beautiful pool in shape for us. The housekeeper did an outstanding job every single day and even cooked breakfast for us, which was not part of her duties - we were happy to leave a big tip for excellent service.

The villa is in a very secure gated community with access to its own beach that is literally 2 minutes away - clean blue warm water, and it was almost always deserted, no annoying crowds (for crowds, water sports, bars, restaurants and general liveliness go to Cabarete or Sosua, both within minutes of driving). Even though it is surrounded by other villas, it is situated in such a way as to offer us total privacy, including in the garden/around the pool.

The villa itself is rather large and would have easily fit two more couples comfortably. After tiny city apartments it was nice to be in a place that gives you a sense of freedom and spaciousness. We really enjoyed the tasteful decorations and the comfort. The master bedroom is a dream with a large terrace overlooking the pool to have breakfast or relax, and there is a spacious terrace on the ground floor where we had our dinners and drinks when not going out.

Overall, our stay was magic and we would have happily stayed another week! Will definitely return and recommend to friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, cleanliness, service, location!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzylondo...
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant location but rather too much hassle involved...”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Unfortunatley Daniel was indisposed when we stayed here for 2 weeks and judging by the other reviews this might have made a difference. Renting a private villa in this kind of location does require some kind of local help. The maid ( who did not always show up) was clearly not happy at being burdened with this - and incidentally if we had not spoken Spanish that would have been problematic. There were two lengthy power outages in the first two days - I had anticipated that and asked for candles/torches when we arrived but that was met with a shrug. Eventually on the third day arrangements were made to deliver a generator. Similarly the plumbing leaves something to be desired - it is not possible to have the water on in ground floor bathrooms without using an external pump that makes a horrible shrieking noise. The gas oven is also pretty lethal - it is very difficult to light - the maid had difficulties when she was demonstrating it. The second time we used it my dress caught on fire from it - so we stopped using it.
The most irritating thing was the recommendation for so-called 'Savings Car Rental' . It is vital to have a car in this location and Daniel told us that he had arranged for the owner to meet us at the airport and then to show us to the villa. The owner was not there - but her rather unpleasant side kick who insisted on charging us more than had been agreed, and then demanding we pay him a tip. Within 7 km the car overheated and broke down. It was repaired and broke again the next day. After some aggravation it was replaced by a much smaller car - useless for a family of 5. The owner told us that it was impossible to get a large car over the Christmas period as they were all pre-booked. (We had booked months earlier) Eventually after various phone calls Daniel intervened from afar and and within a couple of days we got a car that would fit us all - but it was not an idea way to spend the pre-Christmas period. By the second week things had settled down and we managed to have a more relaxing stay - the villa has lovely antique furnishings and the master bedroom in particular is delightful.
Given that we were rather marooned to start with it might have been useful if there was a list of nearby recommendations - restaurants/ supermarkets. Two tips if you do stay here. My children had Spanish lessons at the Casa Goethe in Sosua which was an excellent place. And we were very impressed with the tours organised by the Eco company Iguana Mama based in Cabarete.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Antique furnishings and master bedroom with terrace
Liked least: Erratic plumbing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iparks81
Roatan, Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible place to stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I joined my friend and stayed a week in this Villa. Location is perfect between Sosua and Cabarete. Located in a gated neighborhood with armed guards at gate, and at entrance to driveway. its a two minute walk to a semi-private beach. The three times I went there I was the only one on the entire beach. The rooms are nice and big. Theresa the maid does a great job keeping the place perfectly clean. The power went out about 3 times during my stay, but it really wasn't any sort of hassle. From what I've heard power outages are pretty common. The owner offered to get a generator if we thought it was necessary.
there was a pool man who came by frequently to keep the pool in good order.
I would definitely come back!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: size, cleanliness, security
Liked least: clothes dryer.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing