We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
108
80
25
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
80
25
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesemilk and cookiessiam roomtatami matsgarden leveloutdoor jacuzzijapanese dollspersonalized serviceday bedanother surpriseresident managercozy roomwelcome drinktaal volcanogreat viewbed and breakfasthome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

This is a true trademark of the Discovery group of hotels since i have been to Discovery Suites Ortigas and Club Paradise Coron and already know the quality of Discovery. Why is this very special? Ok we were attending a wedding in a nearby church and since the check in time is 2pm they were kind enough to make us use the Ceylon room which is good for couples and just beside the outdoor jacuzzi. They gave us toiletries to use and complimentary water and newspaper even if it was just an hours use of the room for make up purposes.
After the wedding we checked in at the good for five family room Nantucket. It has an office table , very cold aircon and average but free wi fi per room.
There was a mint ginger cold tea as welcome drink and a complimentary wine and assorted imported cheeses with Melba toast to be served inclusive at any time you want. Oatmeal cookies and hot milk are the good night treats.
The valet and porter dont allow you to carry your own luggage by bringing it from your car to your room. We were pampered like royalty as the staff were bringing water at our discretion and they even take your pictures for you. They bow like they are japanese. There are only 7 rooms but still to find service like this in Tagaytay which is somewhat reserved to high end resorts in the Southern Islands is why it is special.
Pricey in a way ranging from 11 to 20 thousand but the rooms are themed in different ways. Even the toy light houses in our room have working batteries. The oxford room on the top floor is for honeymooners by having a King size bed with private Jacuzzi and fireplace. Maybe its Christmas or they are simply superb. Keep it up guys.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank feetdraggerdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

The service was by far the best i have ever experienced in tagaytay. The moment you step out of your car they make you feel very special.

The food was great. I loved the sweet corn velouté.

My Tagaytay experience was perfect!

Thank you Discovery Country Suites!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Cookie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

My husband and I decided to take my mom here for her vacation from the states. The place is beautiful and the view is breathtaking while the staff was very polite and accomodating.

From our check in, complementary wine and cheese tasting, hot milk with cupcakes to the yummy breakfast; Discovery Country Suites gave an outstanding service. And we will definitely return. Thank you for the great experience!

Room Tip: Since there are only 7 rooms in this hotel, choosing would be determined wether you need a small or large size room.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Discovery Country Suites is a boutique bed and breakfast hotel in the more quiet side (so far) of Tagaytay, away from the frenzy of the main restaurant row of Calamba Road. But traffic still builds up in front of the hotel during certain times of the day. The hotel only has seven rooms of various sizes. So this assures an intimate space and more peace and quiet for guests, unless there are boisterous chidren in residence. The hotel offers a partial view of Taal Lake.

The place feels like one's own home because of the cozy space and ambience. This was probably someone's weekend home before it was converted into a hotel. The entrance / reception opens into the living room cum dining area. There's a terrace / balcony dining area which catches the breeze from the lake that's great for breakfasts and dinners. Lunch time may be at bit hot at the balcony. The hotel's restaurant, Verbana, has very good food, a mix of international and Filipino classics with a twist. And in case you need to satisfy your craving for Starbucks coffee, there's a branch located conveniently on the lot right next to the hotel.

The bedroom interiors are tastefully designed / themed to evoke certain places: St. Tropez, Nantucket, Nara, etc. Maintenance of the room is average. Our room had several scratches on the hardwood flooring that should be mended. Toiletries are quite generous - Acca Kappa for the shampoo, bath gel and hair conditioner. Daily complimentary wine and cheese platter and warm milk and homemade cookies are served in the late afternoon in your room. That's a nice, genteel touch to end the day. There's also a small outdoor jacuzzi with a view of the lake in the backyard.

The staff are all quite young and a bit inexperienced. But they make up for it with their accomodating and friendly nature. As there are not too many guests, even if the hotel is full, they can acomodate personal requests more readily.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor may be more quiet and have a better view of Taal Lake.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

Discovery isn't perfect. But the service is impeccable.
I appreciate the free wine and cheese tasting, as well as the free hot milk and cookies for the kids before bed time.
Location next to Starbucks means good coffee and frappes are available anytime you fancy these.
Breakfast is ok. Hot chocolate and coffee are refillable.
Nice, quaint, and hassle free. A good place to kick back and relax.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews