We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
One of the Tallest's Status in the World of Buddha

The Spring Temple Buddha is the tallest status's in the world. 420 ft status on a 66 ft pedestal... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2018
James L
,
Sparks, Nevada
The Biggest and the Best

The detail of the Tallest Buddha in the World will blow you away. Be prepared to walk up nearly... read more

Reviewed 21 October 2015
John T
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
7
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

My husband stumbled upon this on the Internet and made it his mission to go there on our trip to China. I wasn't overly enthusiastic as it involved a 17 hour train trip to Pingdinshan and a 2 hour drive out there.

We made it out there and it was the most amazing sight ever. Nothing can prepare you for the scale and amazing sight until you get there and see it for yourself.

We were the only tourists there and just about all our shots had just us in them. Our guide managed to get us up to the platform so we could stand beside the toe to get even more if a feel for the scale of it.

After the climb to the top my calves still hurt but it was well worth the pain.

When we booked we were told that the train from Shanghai was the only option. After we got to pingdingshan we learnt that we could have flown into Xhengzhou which is a three hour car ride to the temple.

Our guide was called Jack and he was assigned to us through Intrepid and I cannot recommend him highly enough.

My recommendation is to go to this amazing temple and see it for yourself as you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: September 2015
5  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2015

This statue is breathtaking. It really is a wonder of the world, and nobody I know has heard of it. It's in the middle of nowhere and is a trek to get to - about a 2 hour bus trip from the town of Lushan, but it's worth the effort to see the world's biggest statue. There are good English instructions on how to get there at www.springtemplebuddha.com.

On the day I arrived there were more staff than tourists.. it was completely empty. So amazing to see such a magnificent statue in a part of China that is totally peaceful and quiet. At the site is also the world's largest bell. Highly recommend a visit if you are in the area!

Date of experience: September 2014
10  Thank SourceControl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews