We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveled to Ngorongoro Crater with Nature Experience safaris”
Review of Ngorongoro Crater

Ngorongoro Crater
Book In Advance
More Info
US$700,00*
and up
Full-Day Day Trip to Ngorongoro Crater From Arusha Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Traveled to Ngorongoro Crater with Nature Experience safaris”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Nature Experience safaris is an excellent company that made our experience comfortable and cost effective. Michael was very good about helping us choose our activities and places to stay based on our limit amount of time(3 days). He arranged for us a great driver that took us wherever we wanted and had great insite on where we should shop for great selection and bargins! On the way to the airport, he even took us to a nice hotel to shower before our flight!

We told Micheal we needed to do this trip on a on a budget and he hooked us up with a great price for a very nice hotel (Endoro Lodge), and 2 parks. I will definately be in contact with Nature experience next time I'm in Tanzania.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank tomallenrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2 865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,401
    349
    92
    21
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providenciales
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Must-Do African' Experience”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I have been lucky to visit some amazing wildlife areas in Tanzania, Mozambique, Botswana and, of course, South Africa. Nothing compares to the Ngorongoro Crater.

From the first moment you arrive on the rim and stare down into the crater of a once near Kilimanjaro sized volcano you know you are somewhere special.

Descend into the crater to see one of the most dense assortments of African wildlife and eco-zones. Lakes, forest, bush and both grass and marshlands provide a variety and concentration birds and animals that is hard to match anywhere on earth.

It is also an amazing experience to stand in the middle of the crater and see the crater walls towering around you...

You might even get lucky enough to see some of the last remaining rhino's in east Africa.

Now.. the downside... but not enough for me to deduct a star: the game drivers are just not what you would expect from such a place. Compared to South African' guides, the local drivers (for the most part) know very little about the bush. And worse, they drive like maniacs at times... so any lion or cat sitings in the crater will soon turn into a traffic jam of Land Rovers and Cruisers.

Still, it is magical; our driver this year was excellent -> he knew his stuff. He looked up birds in his bird book and is clearly taking a real interest in the bush. And he kept us out of the traffic jams!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheWealthyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

One of the most beautiful places on earth for sure. the views are breathtaking, the animals are everywhere. We did not go 2 minutes without seeing a new animal. February was a great time to visit, not too crowded, sunny and great weather. not a cloud on the sky and very green. the colors are simply stunning. A must in Tanzania!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank meli50meli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the wonders of the world”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is a truly amazing place to visit even without the animals which are in abundance. Roads were good and we saw rhino, cheetah, lion, elephant, cerval, wildebeest, zebra, warthog and antelope.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For time conscious safari enthusiasts, the Ngorongoro is the equivalent of modern day fast food”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The crater is a magnificent natural amphitheatre that is a marvelous sight to see. You get an opportunity to view a large amount of animals in a very small area.

The massive flocks of flamingoes awe you. It is home to a profusion of bird and wildlife making game viewing excellent, and the scenery is exceptional.

Since the Ngorongoro is a very famous tourist attraction, there is a little problem of overcrowding and one gets the feeling of the crater being more like an open zoo than a jungle.

The poachers have ensured that the sightings of the rhino are getting more elusive by the day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BharatGala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ngorongoro Crater also viewed

Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Arusha Region
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 
Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Arusha Region
 

Been to Ngorongoro Crater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing