We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon in Pole Pole Bungalows”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mafia Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pole Pole Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Me and my husband spent the last week of our honeymoon in this wonderful place. It's perfect to relax after the safari, we loved everything about Pole Pole, the kindness of all the staff, the peace and silence of the place, the delicious food and the almost untouched nature of Mafia island. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ilaria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

Wonderful trip. From the time we checked in we had exceptional service. Has the feel of a "non-strip" hotel. Quieter and more sedate. The food was great. Nice to sit by the pool. They have a lovely buffet and a la carte menu. Staff and manager were all very friendly. Two particular employee (I believe the names were salma and yoseph) really made our stay special. They made us feel very welcome and well tended to.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sycomore469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Wonderful rooms with Indian Ocean views as well as great trips to see the Blue lagoon, marimam sandbank BBQ, fabulous snorkelling at Chloe island bay and finished with cocktails around the pool while watching the flying foxes fill the air above. Also with great food and service this small hotel was very comfortable. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All have great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Parkparty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I had a few days to relax after my Kilimanjaro climb in July and decided to try the snorkeling at Mafia Island, and booked myself at Pole Pole "Slowly Slowly" in Swahili. I have already booked myself at Pole Pole for February 2018 with my wife.
Serenity, Quiet, Breezy, Safe (I never locked my doors) This 7 Room Boutique Eco lodge located about 20min from the airport and is perfect for those who really want to get away. The snorkeling IS super and is expertly run (PADI dive center, nearby) The 3 meals are included and the food is fresh and plentiful. The staff is friendly and always about to assist you at any time, but never intrusive. This property is very very quiet...no music, some internet, no TV, just gaze at the incredible stars at night. Bring a book or get one from their library. One daily excursion is included in the price, or do absolutely nothing it's up to you. Have coffee in the room in the morning....and then go from there. The diving and snorkeling will bring you to Mafia island, the Stars at Pole Pole will guide you back.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Perfect end to our family safari holiday. We had thought the wildlife was over but we're whale watching humpback whales on day 1 and having our paid discovery first dive on an insanely perfect coral reef on day 2. Loved everything about it. Thank you. We travelled with our 4 children aged 18 to 12. All loved it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank RDHT140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mafia Island hotels
0.6 km away
Mafia Island Lodge
Mafia Island Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mafia Island
214 reviews
0.4 km away
Kinasi Lodge
Kinasi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Utende
162 reviews
12.6 km away
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
#1 of 9 in Mafia Island
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
#2 of 12 in Mafia Island
164 reviews
0.5 km away
Mafia Beach Bungalows
Mafia Beach Bungalows
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Meremeta Lodge
Meremeta Lodge
#1 of 12 in Mafia Island
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pole Pole Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pole Pole Bungalows

Address: Plot 16 - Utende Beach, Mafia Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Mafia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Price Range: R2 836 - R3 308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pole Pole Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven bungalow suites overlook the infinite hues of blue of Chole Bay, the core of Mafia Island Marine Park. Pole Pole is an exclusive eco-resort, renowned for its great cuisine, unpretentious and laid-back atmosphere, warm but discrete hospitality. Balancing luxury and respect for local culture and environment it is the perfect place to relax after a safari and the ideal base for exploring the underwater wanders of Mafia Island. With a touch of style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pole Pole Bungalows Hotel Mafia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing