We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money where their mouth is”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mafia Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pole Pole Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2017

These guys call themselves eco luxury. And they are. I especially loved the recycled bombay sapphire bottles as water bottles with customised stoppers. No nasty plastic water bottles here, a global scourge. Glorious, kick back, barefoot luxury. And I loved that they encouraged us all to make the most of this incredible destination. They enjoy a tight partnership with Mafia Island Diving to get you out onto and under the sea whether its island walking, turtle hatching, whale watching or diving. Best thing about Mafia is that there's lots to see and do but not alot of other people seeing and doing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antandant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

We were lucky enough to spend a week at Pole Pole. I cannot think of a better place to relax and enjoy life at the beach. The setting is gorgeous. The bungalows are great and perfectly appointed. The food is superb and a wonderful blend of African and Italian flavors. The messages in the spa… so relaxing. They also work closely with Mafia Island Diving which is a great dive shop! But the stand out here really is the people. All the staff is friendly and attentive. We really felt cared for. Finally, I can’t say enough about how great Paola is. She calmly and kindly took care of EVERYTHING. It started from our first email exchanges. It continued when we first arrived and we were welcomed with fresh young coconut cocktails. Every evening at dinner she made sure that we were having a great time and help customize the outings for the next day. She even helped arrange a special Spice Tour in Zanzibar the day after we left Pole Pole. I hope someday I will get a chance to go back to this very special place.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Our extended family spent a week at Pole Pole after being on safari for many days. It was the perfect end to a great Tanzanian adventure. Our group of 6 people took up 3 of the 7 bungalows, and they are all spacious and lovely. The verandas are private and have views of the ocean. There are even swinging day beds on the bungalow verandas that have mosquito nets if needed (they weren't!). Breezy and beautiful.

We had coffee and tea brought to us in our bungalows every morning before breakfast! The food was delicious--there was homemade bread and pasta and lots of seafood. We had Swahili meals, Italian meals, and curries as well, all were wonderful. The staff members were plentiful and attentive. They made great cocktails too. And the massages we received in the spa bungalow were top notch! All of the resort bungalows were brilliantly designed. At sunset they light the sandy paths from the sleeping bungalows to the restaurant and bar bungalows with lanterns. It is beautiful!

The coordination and personal service between Mafia Island Diving and Pole Pole resort was seamless. Each night at 7pm David came to speak to us about planning for the next day. The daily snorkeling excursions were great, and the divers in our group were thrilled with the expertise and professionalism of the dive crew.

So special! We loved every minute.

Room Tip: They are all private and have nice views. Super roomy with airflow and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NSpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

i hope to to visit frequently and i plan to come again i was really enjoy when i was there oh nice beach, fantastic snorkeling, i hope to come to my friend again from different countries and explain the beautiful of the Hotel and the good services do they served to me.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Jn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

My husband and I spent 6 wonderful nights at Pole Pole. The food was amazing and the staff made us feel so welcome and special. We especially enjoyed the coffee delivered to our bungalow in the morning. Our bungalow was beautiful with a wonderful balcony. I had a wonderful massage and manicure -- please be sure to take advantage of these services. We did a variety of activities -- snorkeling with whale sharks, diving, snorkeling, island tour and sunset dhow ride. These were all very enjoyable. If you are going to Mafia Island I would highly recommend Pole Pole!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mafia Island hotels
0.6 km away
Mafia Island Lodge
Mafia Island Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mafia Island
214 reviews
0.4 km away
Kinasi Lodge
Kinasi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Utende
162 reviews
12.6 km away
Butiama Beach
Butiama Beach
#1 of 9 in Mafia Island
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
#2 of 12 in Mafia Island
164 reviews
0.5 km away
Mafia Beach Bungalows
Mafia Beach Bungalows
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
52 reviews
0.0 km away
Meremeta Lodge
Meremeta Lodge
#1 of 12 in Mafia Island
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pole Pole Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pole Pole Bungalows

Address: Plot 16 - Utende Beach, Mafia Island, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Mafia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Price Range: R2 897 - R3 380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pole Pole Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven bungalow suites overlook the infinite hues of blue of Chole Bay, the core of Mafia Island Marine Park. Pole Pole is an exclusive eco-resort, renowned for its great cuisine, unpretentious and laid-back atmosphere, warm but discrete hospitality. Balancing luxury and respect for local culture and environment it is the perfect place to relax after a safari and the ideal base for exploring the underwater wanders of Mafia Island. With a touch of style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pole Pole Bungalows Hotel Mafia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing