We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
10
4
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
4
4
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We had to find a place to stay in a rush and opted for a two bedroom chalet. Apart from the cupboards being new, these people really thought of everything. There is even an iron and ironing board. The provided blankets added warmth as a some cold air move in from the sea. For the December holidays, this will be amazing... looking onto the sea. Worth a visit but I do recommend... book well in advance!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Niel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Stunning view of the bay. Quiet and peaceful (included of neighbors). Security on guard 24 hours. Communal braai (BBQ) area, but one can also braai on own veranda. SELF CATERING CHALETS, THEY DEFINITELY NEED UPGRADING !!!!. a Few good restaurants nearby e.g. Kaai4, Sea Gypsy etc. There are many other things activities e.g. Markets, Wine farms, Beaches, 4x4 routes, Paragliding etc.

Room tip: All Chalets are sea facing
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iona1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

It was out of season and empty. I placed my tent on the front row so that I had an unobstructed view of sea, bay and mountains. Spectacular. The stands are grassed, have shade and electricity points. Taps are close at hand. The ablutions are great too. Brilliant place to camp.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PenKem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The chalets are on the beqach with great views and hearing the waves at night is nice. It was clean but remember - no double beds for couples . TV channels good and excellent security with patrolling throughout the day and night. Good communal place to braai.
Bring own towels and braai grid( and tongs)

Room tip: Remember to brig own towels and braai rooster
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choosytraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

My husband and I camped at De Bakke Caravan Park for 3 months...August, September and October 2016. The size of the caravan sites are good. We stood in the B block and had a beautiful view of the bay. The ablution block is in reasonable condition, we battled the first month to get them to clean the ablutions, the cleaners seem to be more interested in cleaning the chalets than the caravan ablutions, the cleaners would come in in the morning and take a filthy mop and mop the floors, their handbags were still on their shoulders, this happened late afternoon aswell. We complained to management and the ablutions were cleaned one day, after that back to the same old story. The dishwashing area needs to be revamped and perhaps have a roof built over so that it stays clean. There is 24hr security, our problem was the security gate, anyone can walk in and be missed by security if they are busy. Price per stand is not too bad. Unfortunately we stayed over during Mossel Bays sport week end, and drifting( noisy motor vehicles making donoughts, and driving in circles), is classified as a sport. The park was taken over by these drivers, who camped at De bakke, there was no control over the noise level in the park, loud music, revving of motor vehicles, our chairs were removed from our site and found at the gate the next day. No sign of management, security could not enforce any rules, as these people don't listen. Not sure what the chalets are like, all I can say is they need attention.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sharron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews