We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit for tasty Indian food”
Review of Punjabi Kitchen

Punjabi Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: African, Asian, Indian, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Punjabi Kitchen offers a unique dining experience serving innovative North Indian cuisine. It is an elegant restaurant situated in the heart of Mossel Bay CBD, in Eden Plaza which is neither a shopping mall nor a flee market but houses a fully licensed Bar. a convenience store, coffee shop, jewelry shop, greeting card & Gift shop, African Craft, Scarf, Toys, Games and leather hand bag shops to cater for the needs of the local people and tourists. There is also a well equipped cigarette kiosk. A family friendly restaurant, Punjabi Kitchen also has a Take-Away Department and offers a fantastic variety of spicy foods and real Indian food freshly prepared by our chefs on site, at affordable prices. For those who would prefer something different, fish curry and pizza are available at request. Restaurant and Take away service is available 9.00 a.m. to 9.00 P.M. Monday to Saturday with last orders at 8.00 p.m. During the low season we close on Sundays and Public Holidays. Plaza Lounge Bar, which is part of Punjabi Kitchen, stocks extensive range of medium to high quality wines, beers and spirits. To maintain the high standard of our bar stock, we impose a R50 corkage per bottle to discourage people bringing their own liquor.
Reviewed 14 December 2017

The food at punjabi kitchen was amazing.. best indian food we had in South Africa.. the staff and owner were very warm and friendly.. loved it.. will recommend to visit there for sure when someone is in Mosselbay for a good sumptuous meal ☺️

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank terjanig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajeetgill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are appreciated. We strive to provide the best quality of food and service at all times. We hope we can keep it up. Thanks for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

I ate in Punjabi kitchen along with my wife and a friend. The ostrich curry and also pyaaz paranthas we're awesome. All I would say I the food here was awesome.

Thank Mohit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajeetgill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you for taking time from your travels to write a review on Punjabi Kitchen. Your compliments are most appreciated. They give us the encouragement to do even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

The food was very good. We had a very nice lunch after we visited the museum. It was very close to the museum.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank karenmS6028MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for your review of the food of Punjabi Kitchen. It is always encouraging for the staff to hear that their cooking and service are appreciated. Yes, we are only a minute away from the Museum and with the season starting on Wednesday we are already beginning to get busy. Thank you for your custom and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Our two “other halves” booked this “restaurant” for an evening out. Well, it’s basically in the middle of a strange little shopping mall. We two ladies put the brakes on and said No Way! However, it did look spotless and the food smelt delicious so a few nights later we had a takeaway. It was absolutely top notch. Fresh and fragrant lamb curry, chicken curry, Bombay aloo with divine naan breads and roti plus a few other accompaniments made for a fabulous night in. Would 100% use it again and I highly recommend this establishment for Take Away food but I absolutely would not want to dine there.

I hope this helps.

Thank Pusilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for your very honest comments on Punjabi Kitchen. Eden Plaza was built to replicate European style plazas with different food stalls, bar and shops for the convenience of those who are just stopping at the Museum for a few minutes or for the locals who do not have too much time to go around looking for quality items of gifts, curios and jewelry. Unfortunately being away from the waterfront things did not work out as planned but the quality of our food attracted about 17 International tour operators who have been keeping us busy all year round at lunch time. In the evening the individual tourists who spot us on Trip Advisor keep the place busy. It is not a shopping mall nor a flee market. It is a place to find up market gifts. The 32 seater restaurant is most popular with diners whilst the open plan cafeteria keeps busy with people in their lunch breaks. It is certainly not a place for someone looking for a place buzzing with bodies. We are pleased you did come back for the food and enjoyed it. We certainly will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Very warm staff- the food is cooked with love, and tastes it. I've been back for lunch a couple times - very natural ingredients - always good. Very reasonably priced. Odd shopping mall atmosphere - but go for the food and conversation. Delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JDSheppard99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for your very encouraging comments on Punjabi Kitchen and its food and staff. Because the authorities have not been able to resolve the rain water flooding over the foot path into our premises, we have had to build a retaining wall and close off the entrance from the George Way. This has changed the impression that was meant to be created by the Plaza. However, our standard of food has made up for it and one only needs to read the reviews to be assured of quality food. We appreciate your patronage and always look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punjabi Kitchen also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Great Brak River, Mossel Bay
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Punjabi Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing