We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
238
180
66
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
180
66
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gannet restaurant harbour suite garden route hotel restaurant oyster bar one night comfortable hotel presidential suite main bedroom reception staff cape town buffet breakfast small pool secure parking welcome drink reception area pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Exceptional hotel with great restaurant and modern rooms. Special thanks to Lungi at reception who went the extra mile and offered complimentary water after seeing me after a jog. All the staff went the extra mile and made an extra effort.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank DanielM19634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Daniel M

Thank you for taking time to write you comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass your comments onto our TEAM.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

I’m an SPG member so figured booking Marriott here would be easy... Called hotel before traveling. Gave name and information for check in - as well as cc info. After driving for 4 hours we showed up and hotel manager basically says we have no rooms. Apparently they sold ours a few hours earlier (it was 5 pm). As if that weren’t annoying enough, I checked trip advisor for rooms available in the area and the hotel showed up. I booked it on trip advisor (via hotels.com) figuring they might of secured rooms outside the local hotel. Nope... even with 2 confirmations we never got a room. Beware - if you book this hotel (even through trip advisor) it’s not really confirmed until your apparently in your room.

If helpful - we were lucky to get the last room at the Village Point Hotel. It ended up being a full two bedroom (master suites) with kitchen and balcony overlooking the ocean for literally half the price. I’d recommend checking there bf going to this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Jared,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in TripAdvisor.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal. Please accept our sincere apologies. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Mossel Bay.

Yours sincerely

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

+ Room was quite spacious, with all required amenities. Bathroom was clean and had the basic items

+Staff is very nice in this hotel. Each and every staff with whom we interacted was polite and helpful - be it the receptionist, the person helping us with our luggage or parking. This made our stay even better with the hospitality.

+There is free parking right outside the hotel. The hotel also has payable parking (minimal rate) behind it with closed gate. We chose to park the car inside.

+There are many eateries, a museum, activity etc near the hotel at walking distance (2 to 5 min walk)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyankaK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear PriyankaK30

Thank you for taking time to write your comments on TripAdvisor with your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Ronel Theron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

I had my wedding at the Protea Hotel! IT WAS JUST BEAUTIFUL!! White carpet, flowers, music, "cornfetti", best staff in the world, bubbles, congratulations notes, best bath of my life, room service and a view!
We stayed in the presidential suite and honestly...I could live there forever!!
I had no choice but to feel like a princess and have no stress! Best week of my life no doubt! Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a luxury home away from home and memories that I will treasure forever.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 33, I have also stayed in 1 - 15. EXCELLENT!!!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear IZ82

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. It was an honor to have shared this memorable occasion with you and wish you ALL the best life has offer.Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Mossel Bay.

Yours sincerely

Ronel Theron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

It was only a 1 night stay, but extremely disappointing. The welcome and reception area was good, however the room was terrible. They had our booking down for only 1 person and we were a couple travelling around Africa, not sure how there on-line system got it so wrong. We thought we booked a room with a view, but we told it was not. We were then shown 3 rooms, all with no views and 2 had smells when they opened the doors. We settled for the 3 room. It was small, tired and in desperate need of renovation. After we moved In to the room the smell was there, we worked out that it came from the shower and when we turned it on the smell was less, clearly a problem with the drainage, we reported it to the staff.
When we checked out, the account for the room was 30% more than what was on the booking confirmation. I had to show the staff our email confirmation and they eventually corrected it.
A very disappointing stay, especially being part of the Marriott Group.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear ray c

Thank you taking time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. The inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay is most definitely not the standard we strive to achieve. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and hotel team to ensure that this was is corrected moving forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Mossel Bay.

Kind Regards

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews