We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We were driving the Garden Route and somewhat randomly decided to overnight in Mossel Bay. Stayed at the Protea which was excellent. Very large room, quiet at night, view of the bay from the patio. Overall great value with excellent included breakfast.

Gave it a five star rating due to service, quality, and price.

Excellent onsite restaurant, was busy but did manage to secure a reservation when we arrived. Same site for included superb breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Randy Z

Thank you for taking time to review our property on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Mossel Bay has so much to offer from shark-cage diving, scuba, fishing, seal island boat trips but to name a few - perhaps on your next visit.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Exceptional hotel with great restaurant and modern rooms. Special thanks to Lungi at reception who went the extra mile and offered complimentary water after seeing me after a jog. All the staff went the extra mile and made an extra effort.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Daniel M

Thank you for taking time to write you comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass your comments onto our TEAM.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

I’m an SPG member so figured booking Marriott here would be easy... Called hotel before traveling. Gave name and information for check in - as well as cc info. After driving for 4 hours we showed up and hotel manager basically says we have no rooms. Apparently they sold ours a few hours earlier (it was 5 pm). As if that weren’t annoying enough, I checked trip advisor for rooms available in the area and the hotel showed up. I booked it on trip advisor (via hotels.com) figuring they might of secured rooms outside the local hotel. Nope... even with 2 confirmations we never got a room. Beware - if you book this hotel (even through trip advisor) it’s not really confirmed until your apparently in your room.

If helpful - we were lucky to get the last room at the Village Point Hotel. It ended up being a full two bedroom (master suites) with kitchen and balcony overlooking the ocean for literally half the price. I’d recommend checking there bf going to this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Jared,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in TripAdvisor.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal. Please accept our sincere apologies. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Mossel Bay.

Yours sincerely

Ronel Theron
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

+ Room was quite spacious, with all required amenities. Bathroom was clean and had the basic items

+Staff is very nice in this hotel. Each and every staff with whom we interacted was polite and helpful - be it the receptionist, the person helping us with our luggage or parking. This made our stay even better with the hospitality.

+There is free parking right outside the hotel. The hotel also has payable parking (minimal rate) behind it with closed gate. We chose to park the car inside.

+There are many eateries, a museum, activity etc near the hotel at walking distance (2 to 5 min walk)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyankaK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear PriyankaK30

Thank you for taking time to write your comments on TripAdvisor with your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Ronel Theron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

I had my wedding at the Protea Hotel! IT WAS JUST BEAUTIFUL!! White carpet, flowers, music, "cornfetti", best staff in the world, bubbles, congratulations notes, best bath of my life, room service and a view!
We stayed in the presidential suite and honestly...I could live there forever!!
I had no choice but to feel like a princess and have no stress! Best week of my life no doubt! Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a luxury home away from home and memories that I will treasure forever.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 33, I have also stayed in 1 - 15. EXCELLENT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear IZ82

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. It was an honor to have shared this memorable occasion with you and wish you ALL the best life has offer.Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Mossel Bay.

Yours sincerely

Ronel Theron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1,6 km away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
259 reviews
28,8 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
371 reviews
3,6 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28,7 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
1,3 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
568 reviews
35,2 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: R1 500 - R3 160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing